NYC

Well, we did it.  Matt, Dani, J, M and me…we all went to NYC last weekend! 

After leaving home in the wee hours of the morning (4:30am), we drove to Scranton and took a bus from there into the city.  On the way, we watched Clint Eastwood’s new movie, Gran Torino.  Very UN-PC, i must say. 

We arrived in the Big Apple via the Port Authority Bus Terminal, which was surprisingly inviting.  It was nearly 10:00am on Saturday morning and yummy food smells were wafting out from every direction at the food court.  We got ourselves some breakfast, then it was off to see the city. 

Starting at Time Square and progressing to Central Park, we encountered a wax museum, the M & M store, the New Year’s ball (which is now seen all year round), a fur protest in front of Saks Fifth Avenue, a bevy of designer shops (Armani, Versaci, etc), and the Apple store, which J just loved!

home at last

home at last

After seeing what the city had to offer downtown, we took in a Broadway Play, Chicago.  The musical was okay, but the most memorable part of the show for me:  The Ushers at the Ambassador Theatre.  They were some of the pushiest people I’ve ever encountered.  Harsh, demanding, unforgiving; they killed the buzz we had going before we entered the place. 

Melora Hardin (Jan, from the office) was performing as Roxie Hart in the show.  She’s the reason we went to see Chicago, as opposed to some other play.  She did a nice job, but overall the presentation was, well, less than i expected.  I think we all felt the same.  The stage was small and the sound was bad, and in the end it kinda felt like a high school play.  Nevertheless, I love live theatre.

The band on stage at Chicago was great!  I’m a big jazz fan.  I particularly enjoyed the song Mr. Cellophane, sang by Amos, Roxie’s husband.  I’ve included some of the lyrics here.  Poor Amos, I know some guys like him and I have compassion for his plight.  I’ve felt invisible a time or two, myself.

Mr. Cellophane, sung by Amos:
If someone stood up in a crowd
And raised his voice up way out loud
And waved his arm and shook his leg
You’d notice him

If someone in the movie show
Yelled “Fire in the second row
This whole place is a powder keg!”
You’d notice him

And even without clucking like a hen
Everyone gets noticed, now and then,
Unless, of course, that personage should be
Invisible, inconsequential me!

Cellophane
Mister Cellophane
Shoulda been my name
Mister Cellophane
‘Cause you can look right through me
Walk right by me
And never know I’m there…

I tell ya
Cellophane
Mister Cellophane
Shoulda been my name
Mister Cellophane
‘Cause you can look right through me
Walk right by me
And never know I’m there…

Central Park NYC

Central Park NYC

Yep, that’s me, leaning against a lamp post in Central Park.  Can ya tell I’m cold?  And my hair is messed up…what a sight!  I went to NYC with a scarf and gloves, but nothing to cover my ear, so we HAD to make a side trip to one of those GOT EVERYTHING type of shops.  That grey headband cost me $3.99 and it was the best four bucks I ever spent, even if it did mess with my hair.

Central Park in winter

Central Park in winter

Here, you see more evidence of our brief visit to NYC’s Central Park.  Danielle has more pictures on her site (www.bardenphotography.com), but truthfully, not a lot of picture taking got done.  Instead, we soaked up the sites, enjoyed each other’s company, sampled a little bit of NY’s culinary treats and thanked God that we live far away from the bright lights of Broadway. 

It might be nice to hang out in comedy clubs and share cocktails with friends til daybreak, if you like that sort of thing, but we have something NYC will never have:   Star lit skies all winter long. 

It’s good to live in the foothills of Pennsylvania, but never more so than when you return from a long and exhausting trip.  I enjoyed every minute of our adventure and would do it again in a heart beat, but I can truthfully say I LOVE my little piece of pasture.

I’ll visit the city again, soon, but for now I’ll wrap myself in a warm blanket and enjoy the rest of the winter with my schnauzer at my feet and a cup of coffee in my hand.  There’s no place like home!

2 thoughts on “NYC

  1. Jared says:

    Your writing, as always, is such a treat to read. We had a blast, and we’re already thinking of shows that we would like to see that will be just a tad more impressive. Thanks for going with us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

