An Easter Attitude

As I’m writing this entry, it’s Good Friday.  The sun is shining outside and the day holds a promise that makes my heart sing.  Only a few more days and Easter will arrive.  Easter, with the valiant story of our Lord’s sacrifice; Easter, with lilies and daffodils and peanut butter eggs and baskets and grass; Easter, with crosses and victory songs and time spent with family.  I love Easter!

This year, as Easter breaks on the pink and purple, orange-tinged horizons all over this great land, I have to say that I’m grateful to be living in a country where I’m free to embrace the Christian traditions that make Easter a very special holiday.  I’m grateful that I live in a place where democracy still rules.  I’m grateful for free enterprise, free markets, a chance to “live the dream”, and an opportunity to speak my mind about the heartfelt convictions I hold, without the threat of bodily harm, sanctions by the government or the loss of my job.  Thank God for America. 

Thank God it’s Easter!

Leave a Reply

