Icabod

Today, I heard from a friend that she had found her diamond earrings.  She was elated and rightly so–they’d been missing for a long, long time!  In her words, “That’s what happens when you clean out drawers you haven’t touched in years.”  I know what she means.  Having moved recently, I’ve had the opportunity to “find” things I haven’t seen in ages.  Going through the boxes, some “finds” have been good, while others make me wonder, “What did I keep that for?” 

Among the good “finds” that came as a result of moving day are report cards the kids had issued to them in grade school and high school, birthday cards my husband gave me years ago, and letters my sweet daughter-in-law, Megan, wrote to me when she and BJ were dating.  Oh, how I treasure those letters!  They remind me all over again how lucky we are to have Megan in our lives.  I love that girl.  The theme of my post today is things lost, which of course wouldn’t matter a wit were it not for the fact that we so sorely miss “things” once they are gone.  

My Sunday school class a few weeks ago embarked on a study of the book of 1 Samuel, which has its own lost and found stories to tell.  This week, we’re exploring the fourth chapter of the book.  It is the story of the Ark of the Covenant falling into the hands of the enemy, and the disastrous consequences that followed for God’s people.  

Did you know that the word Icabod means Glory gone?  It does.  And did you know that Icabod’s story is a sad one?  It is.  You see Icabod was a boy who lost his father, mother and grandfather, all on the same day.  In fact, Icabod’s mom gave this dreaded name to her new born boy just prior to her own death in childbirth.  How sad is that?  Icabod’s arrival in this world (and the meaning of his rather odd name) were marked by deep wounds and permanent loss.    Never again would people look at this tiny boy the same way, and never would they forget the mighty lesson God was about to teach them on their way to national repentence and individual contrition.

Poor Icabod, as a descendant of Eli he was born under a curse.  I wonder what his life became, what his childhood was like, if he ever saw adulthood?   I also wonder if Samuel had pity on him?  After all, he too grew up absent a mom to tuck him in at night. 

Do we learn from our personal losses?  I sure hope so, because I would hate to be doomed to repeat them.  Icabod, Glory Gone-a sad story to be sure, but one that deserves to be told.

Leave a Reply

