Protect Yourself

I am a focused person; so focused, in fact, that at times I miss schemes and subterfuge developing around me.  In those moments, I can be caught unaware.  I’m trying to work on this tendency, especially in light of what God’s Word says in the New Testament book of Titus. 

To the pure, all things are pure; but to those who are defiled and unbelieving, nothing is pure…both their mind and their conscience are defiled.” Titus 1:15 NASB 

I quote Titus 1:15 all the time.  I think it is a jewel of the Bible.  It is an effective tool for explaining to Christian brothers and sisters why assuming the best of everybody is risky business. 

Have you seen cleansed and purified believers accosted by vengeful, vicious, evil people who don’t care one wit if they are wreaking havoc in the lives of others?   My believing friends who have been the victims of these people ask me, “Why did God allow this to happen?  Why are they saying those things about me?  They have known me for years, why would they, of all people, believe such an evil thing?” 

The pure stand numb at being the object of defiled people’s misery.  They want to know why God didn’t prepare them for it.  “Why didn’t I realize how wicked they were,” they ask?  “What kept me from picking up on their evil intentions toward me?”  I can’t always answer their questions.  I wish I could.  But I share Titus 1:15 with them because it has brought light to my darkened understanding.

Realizing there are people in this world who, due to their defiled natures hurt others, has brought me peace.  Odd, you might think, that it should.  But consider this:  I now have an explanation for the goose flesh I get when I’m in the presence of some people. There is real, justifiable evidence for why I feel the way I do when I encounter one of these others.  Why I sense battle lines being drawn and swords, both holy and unholy, being unsheathed in the spirit realm.  Someone, or some thing, is ready for a fight. 

These others I’ve been speaking of are wolves in sheep costumes and very dangerous depending on how adept they are at playing the part of a decent human being, instead of revealing the monster that lies within.

Listen to those angels whispering in your ear, Christian.  Pay attention to those red flags. It might save your life, and will certainly increase your odds of survival when that wolf comes knocking at your door.   

This past Sunday, I was amazed to hear a lay speaker in my church talking about the very subject I was writing about only days before. Last week, I was editing this post.  Last week, I was asking for prayer from one of my supporters, because I thought the way this post sounded would alarm people.  Last week, I wondered if I should post this blog message at all.  After our worship hour on Sunday, I wonder no more.   This is the wisdom of God to a church that needs to be warned, I am sure of it.  Please listen church, and save yourself a lot of confusion and doubt.  You are not crazy. You are not imagining things or spinning scary scenarios that are completely unfounded.  There are people out there who are evil. Its okay to think so, okay to act on it and okay to protect your self from them.

All this doom and gloom over wicked people and things in our world is writing I try to steer clear of, mainly because I know the pure don’t like to think about such things.  They don’t want to focus on the darkness of this world, but rather prefer to be light bearers, reaching others will salvation’s message.  I understand.  I want that too.  There is good news in our Bible, and lest the blameless be discouraged, I want to reveal it here. 

“Greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.” 1 John 4:4

Hallelujah!  Our Savior reigns, and He is able to warn, guide, defend and protect us. 

If you, or someone you love, is struggling with pain brought about by a wicked, evil, scheming, sin-soaked soul today, take heart.  Our God is too big to win small!  Let me say that again:  OUR GOD IS TOO BIG TO WIN SMALL!  Hopefully, just reading this post has made you better able to defend yourself against the unscrupulous, unbelieving, defiled and impure people of this world.  It is my prayer that none of you would be victimized by them.  It is because I care for you so much that I felt I needed to say what I’ve just said. 

Remember:  Our God is an awesome God.  Evil does not surprise him, nor shock him.  He’s seen it all and hears you when you talk to him about it on your knees.  He knows how to win against it.  You can trust Him to take action when you pray.  Pass Titus 1:15 forward to others you know, won’t you? 

To the pure, all things are pure, but to those who are defiled and unbelieving… 

Protect yourselves!

Leave a Reply

