I have ears to hear, speak

“How shall I describe this generation?” Jesus asked. “With what will I compare them? They are like a group of children playing a game in the public square. They complain to their friends, ‘We played wedding songs, and you weren’t happy, so we played funeral songs, but you weren’t sad.’ For John the Baptist didn’t drink wine and he often fasted, and you say, ‘He’s demon possessed.’ And I, the Son of Man, feast and drink, and you say, ‘He’s a glutton and a drunkard, and a friend of the worst sort of sinners!’ But wisdom is shown to be right by the lives of those who follow it. Luke 7:30-35 NLT

What kind of children are you birthing in your life today; simply natural kids, or children of the Truth, children of Wisdom, children of Love and children of Joy? 

Do your children tell the truth?  The whole truth?  Do they make accusations that are unfounded?  Do they ever direct those accusations toward someone who is completely innocent of the charge?  Do you?

I love the passage from Luke 7, shown above.  I love it because it portrays for me an exasperated Jesus, a Jesus we rarely see.  A Jesus I can identify with, because I’ve been there before myself.

You people are like mean-spirited children, he says in my paraphrase of what is written there.  You’re two-faced, and your opinions are evil.  You look at a man who lives a squeaky clean life worthy of all praise and you condemn him.  You look at someone who appears to you to be doing everything wrong, and you condemn him.  You have no idea what right or wrong even are anymore, so far from practicing them are you.  Grow up.  You frustrate me!

He’s talking about people:  Average people; unregenerate people–duplicitous people who have moments of clarity…glimmers of understanding, but who are more akin to the ignorant than the enlightened.  James puts it this way, “Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.  Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.”  James 1

So forgetful are those who live their lives flitting across the globe on winds of fashion and whispers of conceit.

You understand that even though you are not a woman of child-bearing years, you do produce children, right?  Being a parent isn’t always about the physical process of giving birth.  Many times, the children we birth share no DNA with our family.  Rather, they are kindred spirits, lost souls, wandering ones who have come into our lives for a moment.  They have been sent by the Father because he trusts us to make a spiritual impact in their lives.  Are you making good on that trust afforded to you?

I’m currently taking part in a study that focuses on Sharing Your Faith.  The sessions for this class have been inspiring to me.  The challenge to actually get out of the classroom, and practice what I believe is my mission have been invigorating.  I’m taking those divine God appointments that come to me and making the most of them.  I’m telling people who I am, who Jesus is to me, and how He can be the same to them. 

Listen, people:  There are many things we might concern ourselves with in this life.  Lots of distractions exist on every street corner.  There is sin and temptation to deal with, and I know some days can be viciously painful to experience.  When the storm hits and the path gets muddy, it can be treacherous walking the narrow way.  That’s why sometimes the best thing we can do is get closer to the ground, like on our knees. 

If you are struggling to get back on your feet today after a blow that’s laid you low, you know what I mean.  Contact me.  I would love to pray for you and if you tell me you don’t want advice, I won’t give it.  I know that escaping into something else, anything else, is tempting.  I know.  But it won’t satisfy; not the way prayer does.  And it won’t change your circumstances.  In fact, depending upon what you turn to, it may make matters worse.  Don’t go there friend.  Turn to Jesus instead.  Your request can remain totally anonymous.  If you don’t trust me, trust someone.  I know a good pastor who would be willing to help. 

Jesus left us to birth spiritual babies that do know the difference between right and wrong.  He wants us to bring them to Him to be baptized.  Let’s not let Him down.

Leave a Reply

