October

DVD

This past week I went to a ladies group meeting at my church. The group had been promoting the movie, October Baby, and since I’d wanted to see it for a while, I was anxious to attend this meeting. I don’t usually go in for the ladies group meetings. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s travel time to get there on a week night that keeps me away.  Once I get in for the evening, I like to stay in and warm and protected from the elements. This night was different. I wanted to see the movie, and they were offering popcorn to go with the flick, so you know I had to go. I was glad I did.

October Baby is not a happy movie. It is a hopeful movie. Moreover, it is an educational movie and a movie based on a true story. It’s about a botched abortion and lingering pain.   I’m not here to bash abortion providers today.  I will say here that while many believe that abortion-on-demand helps women realize their dreams, many others know it to be a killer of dreams and hope for those women, many of them young and under pressure, who have undergone abortion procedures.  

October Baby is an honest look at the aftermath of abortion.  How do I know?  Because I have had friends and co-workers who had abortions and lived to regret it.  I also have had friends who were males and I have helped them deal with the pain and haunting what-ifs that come from having no choice at all about what a woman does with HER body.  As the mother of sons, I see this procedure from another side–the side of fathers.  I have a niece who was in danger of being aborted.  I thank God every day that she was not.

If you get a chance to see October Baby, do.  I promise you will be moved.

Leave a Reply

