A Loving Truth

“Give me all of you!!! I don’t want so much of your time, so much of your talents and money, and so much of your work. I want YOU!!! ALL OF YOU!! I have not come to torment or frustrate the natural man or woman, but to KILL IT! No half measures will do. I don’t want to only prune a branch here and a branch there; rather I want the whole tree out! Hand it over to me, the whole outfit, all of your desires, all of your wants and wishes and dreams. Turn them ALL over to me, give yourself to me and I will make of you a new self—in my image. Give me yourself and in exchange I will give you Myself. My will, shall become your will. My heart, shall become your heart.”
― C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity

I wanted to close out this week with one more quote from CS Lewis, an obviously passionate man.  Can you hear it in his voice?  Wow, if only I could write such prose.

Lewis was a genius and his work, Mere Christianity, a work of art.  If you haven’t read it, find a copy today.  It will make you think and then think some more.  It will change your life.

This week I’ve been thinking about truth and the tellers of truth and how we, as believers, interact with and accept the truth. My conclusion has been that without the Holy Spirit of God coming to rest in my body, heart and soul, I would be an easy target for the evil one, that master of lies. Without God’s oversight in my life, the devil would be telling me a little bit of truth, a few half-truths, a more than a few lies, so that I would never know how to discern one from the other. As a believer I can be pretty naive sometimes, so I can’t imagine what my life would have been like had I decided to pass on Jesus’ offer.  I would have been duped, conned, hoodwinked and swindled many times over I’m afraid.

As someone who wants to see all sides of an argument, I would have been persuaded to fall on the wrong side of many conflicts, while I partnered up with miscreants. I know me, and I know my people pleasing tendencies.  I know I would have been irreconcilably lost.

Thankfully, God loved me enough that he sent the only Son he would ever have to save me. He didn’t stop there, though. When he called Jesus back after his time on earth was done, God sent the Helper, the sustaining Truth Giver, to lead us all into truth.  He commissioned the Holy Spirit to remind us daily of what we’re living for, who we love and why, and what Jesus wants us to do in this dark and hollow place.  Had I not given my life to this Love of mine, I am sure I would have been swallowed up in dissipation by now.  I would have been lost in lust, confused and dazed, wandering without a compass.  Jesus set me on a course of his choosing, and with each step I took I got better and better and better at discerning spirits and knowing where to invest my trust.  I can’t thank Him enough for seeking me out.

Today, I praise God for teaching me how to spot a phony and see a lie for what it is–a frail, stupid, impotent pretender of the truth.

How often do you find yourself being warned away from partnerships with fools?  How long does it take for you to spot a phony these days?  Are you ready to give all of you, in order to have all of Him?

Leave a Reply

