Finish Strong

do-something-logo-200

Don’t excuse yourself by saying, “Look, we didn’t know.” For God understands all hearts, and he sees you. He who guards your soul knows you know. He will repay all people as their actions deserve. Proverbs 24:11-12

Encourage one another. 1 Thess 5:11

Am I my brother’s keeper? Is it my responsibility to see that my sister doesn’t get taken advantage of or misused? Is it for me to say what has been thus far left unsaid, speaking the truth that would bring clarity to this situation instead of hiding it in words that are vague or insincere? Do I really have to take a stand on this issue?

YES, yes you do.

Our justifications for not defending someone who is wrongly accused, threatened, or misused are not excuses God cares to hear. That’s the hard reality that I take away from the proverbs today.

I love this kind of straight talk. It’s firm, in-your-face, and a jagged little pill to swallow sometimes, but pragmatic and to the point. Straight talk motivates me. I want to know what is expected of me, and I want to do my part in the faith community where I live and find my blessing.  I want to be a good citizen.

I do not want to lay down or shut-up when someone is being mistreated. I have been mistreated and it left a scar. Being a daughter of the One who constantly works to bring consolation and peace, safety and security, you know I want to mirror my Lord with my behavior.

If you know someone who is getting a raw deal, please speak up. If you are aware of someone living with an abuser, say something to someone. If someone you love has been robbed, demand back what was taken. It doesn’t matter what other people think.  It matters what God thinks, right? 

Stand shoulder to shoulder with your kin, and especially defend your brothers and sisters in Christ. Be their witness and their strength. If you refuse to do this, you will answer to God for it.

At my church we have been listening to Pastor Lynn preach a series on Nehemiah and we have been inspired by his courage and his determination to keep fighting the good fight. When Sanballet and others said, step down, Nehemiah said, no way. I will not. God has allowed me to protect, inspire, and defend these people and this city, and I will defend them.

Be a Nehemiah today for those in your circle of influence. Finish this week strong and with the power of the Living God working within you.  When it comes to defense of the innocents and doing what’s right, never give up, never back down. Defend in the Name of the Lord.

photo:  www.ovoyow.webs.com

Leave a Reply

