God of the 90%

money

What’s in your wallet?

It’s a good question, isn’t it?  The follow-up might be, what do you have in your bank account?  What do you have in your retirement fund, your Christmas club, or your piggy bank?  Do you carry cash with you at all times, or are you a gal in love with little chunks of plastic, like me?  We all know that there are rewards connected to good money management, but did you know they extend beyond the actual accumulation or use of money? 

God says in His Word to give our first fruits to the church.  He’s talking about our resources, and in 2013 America that probably means money.  He says give those first fruits to Him, then use what is left over–the 90% that is left over–to support your family, home, business, and charitable organizations and ventures you want to support.

It’s incredible to me that God trusts me with that other 90%. I’m not a great money manager, so sometimes I wonder, why?

Why does He trust me with it?

The answer, I think, is that God is teaching me lessons using currency and the exchange of money to make a point. 

I believe money lessons aren’t about money. Not really. They use money to teach me, but the lessons are more about God being in charge of my life, God guiding my spending habits, God translating bad habits into transformed habits, and God using my obedience to bless others and further His work. Lessons I learn about waiting, being patient, monitoring my impulses, and asking God before I spend anything at all help guide me in other areas of my life. 

I am grateful for the concrete feedback these lessons provide.

I don’t know about you but, given the day, the temptation to do my own thing with my money can be strong in me.  Oh, who am I kidding, I’m willful a lot of the time. That’s why I’m thankful for a Savior that understands my humanity and patiently interacts with me as I grow.

Today, as you hand over your nickels and dimes to “the man” think about Jesus and the lessons He may be trying to teach you through money.

Whatever they are, there is no more trustworthy and honest Financial Advisor you can call upon than our Savior. He’s Master of the 90% and more, so you know you can trust Him in all your affairs.

Leave a Reply

