A Change of Habit

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? Matt 25:35-37

I find it satisfying to note the humble spirit with which the righteous conduct their affairs. The righteous are do-ers, and not just hearers of the Word. They put into practice those things that their Lord calls good, and they do it without any expectation of earthly reward, and sometimes without recognition of the significance of what they do. They just make it a point each day to BE. LIKE. JESUS.

I salute the righteous ones!

Recently, I’ve read a book that I have found fascinating. It’s by Charles Duhigg and it’s called The Power of Habit.

Duhigg, in his book, highlights the process we might go through to change our bad habits into good. He uses bio material from the lives of famous and infamous people to make his point.  He admits that most habits are deeply ingrained, but says that we can change them once we know they are in us and realize they are destructive for us.

Within the pages of his book, Duhigg mentions a theologian who taught that the way to become a better Christian is simple. The theologian’s suggestion:  cultivate the habits of Jesus.  He said that if Christians study source materials about Jesus (the Bible), and do what Jesus did, then they will become more and more like Him as the days pass.

Simple concept.

Eventually, day by day, following the habits for living that Jesus adopted, we can become the closest example of Jesus any human could become.

Good habits don’t make us perfect, but they definitely do have the power to make us infinitely better than we were before we took them up and allowed them to change what we do.  

It makes sense to me that by practicing the habits of Jesus, we can be more like Jesus.

Moreover, I see the principle at work in my life. The more I try to frame my world from Jesus’ perspective, the more Christ-like my world becomes. The more I mimic Jesus’ behavior and adopt his habits, the more Christ-like I become.

I think the righteous ones out there in the world are spending a good deal of their time looking at Jesus, looking at self, altering whatever they find in the latter, and seeing positive results.  They are becoming more and more like Jesus.  I want what they have.

Leave a Reply

