Freedom Waits

I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some. I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings…I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize. 1 Corinthians 9:22-23, 26-27

freedom

In my quiet time this morning, I came across this devotional that I felt prompted to share with you here:

One of the seeming paradoxes of Christianity is that believers are free people who are servants. Since we have been freed from sin and self-preoccupation, this very freedom has allowed us to become the servants of Christ. Because we belong to God, we are free from other people’s control and power over our lives. Now we can freely choose to do whatever it takes to share the message of God’s love and regeneration with them. This is the Apostle Paul’s mindset in vs 22 and 23. As we continually commit ourselves to recovery and spiritual growth, we will be asking God to keep us ever alert for ways in which to share our experiences with others. The second part of this passage can be summed up in one word—vigilance. The need for spiritual self-discipline never ceases. We need to practice this principle in all our affairs. Doing this will minimize our slips and hold us close to the presence of God, covered with the peace and serenity of His grace. Serenity: A Companion for Twelve Step Recovery, Pg. 241

I have to say amen to the spiritual truths revealed in this devotional.

I’m thankful every day that Christ has granted me the freedom to become His slave.

I’m thankful to be dropping the chains of self-obsession that once clouded every decision I made.

I’m thankful that I don’t have to just talk about freedom in Christ and Christian love, grace, and mercy.

I’m thankful that I can move beyond words, to actions that display these characteristics to others.

Sometimes, talk is cheap.

I’m thankful that I’m free to serve.

Since Jesus changed me, I can love the unlovable.

I can have mercy on the vicious.

I can meet the down-and-outters of this world on their turf, and turn the conversation toward God.

If you’ve never been someone who struggled to get self out of the way, you have no idea how hard it is to achieve.

I can testify to the fact that we can be who God designed us to be, instead of who the world insists we become.

Can you feel the potential for change in your life? I feel it.

Do you want it for yourself? I want it!

Will you make hard choices in order to have this freedom working in your life today? If you will, there is no end to the things that may be changed in your experience, your life, your eternity, and the lives of others around you.

Think about the impact your change might have on your husband or wife?

Think about the impact your change might have on your children or the neighborhood kids.

Think about the impact your change might have on your co-workers, your extended family, your in-laws, even your doctor, attorney, and pastor.

Today, let’s live out our faith in Jesus with giddy abandon, keeping our eyes on the prize–freedom in Christ–and being a blessing to those around us all day long.

Serve. Love. Pray.

Remember, also, to ask for guidance as you change things up. A targeted Change Agent is a powerful influence for good in our world. Be that Change Agent for Jesus today.

Hallelujah, what a Savior!

Leave a Reply

