To Tell the Truth

Jesus was saying to those Jews who had believed Him, “If you continue in My word, then you are truly disciples of Mine; and you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.” John 8:31-32

The first point of courtesy must always be truth. Ralph Waldo Emerson

When we know Truth, truth will set us free. Jesus is credited with saying that in John’s gospel, chapter 8.  I’ve found it’s true, that once we know Christ, we know a myriad of things about ourselves we never knew before, ie:

We are worthy.

We are loved.

We are forgiven.

We are empowered.

We are His Bride, and we are His choice for eternity. How cool is that?

Telling the truth to those we love is the best way to truly love them.

Think about those individuals who have told you the truth throughout your life. Do you love them for it, or do you despise what you see as mean-spirited criticisms?

Depending on how you answer that question your life will either be filled with relevant, valuable insights, or bitter, resentful memories.

Depending on how you answer, you will either be a person who has a teachable spirit, or a not-so-teachable and rebellious side.

Depending on how you answer, you are either living large with the Holy Spirit as your guide, or you are struggling, stumbling, making the same mistakes over and over again, and hiding from those people who love you enough to risk offending you by telling you the truth.

Depending…

A friend of mine recently suggested that one of the more valuable traits he’s found in a Christian brother or sister is the ability to say to another in a loving way: “You have a lil somethin’ somethin’ on your spirit there.”  Of course, we must do the hand gesture that goes along with the comment for the full effect to applypointing to the corner of one’s chin, where food collects unnoticed as we say it.

I laughed when he made the hand gesture that went along with this statement, because it is so true that we love the people who are able to pull off that kind of truth-telling, but have a hard time with those who are not so gifted at telling us what we need, but may not want, to hear.

Today, I’m thankful for those truth tellers in my life, those who have dared to speak a word of direction to me when I was headed in the wrong direction. I may not have liked it at the time, but as time passes I see more and more wisdom in what they said…what they did.

I’m also thankful for spiritual mentors, those who by virtue of their position in my life have been allowed to tell me the truth as they see it.

I’m also thankful for the Holy Spirit, that One who is the best truth teller of all.  He has led me into better thinking and acting more times than I like to admit.  He tells me the truth in love, every time, and suggests a path that leads to more truth, every time. There is no one I trust more than He.

As I close out this post today, I’m hoping you have someone in your life that isn’t afraid to tell you the truth, no matter the cost to them. If you do, never let them go.  Often run your decisions by them. If they have proven truthful in the small things, you can rely on them for the big things.  They are a true gift in this world of smoke and  mirrors.  Cherish them.  Lean on them. Remember them in your prayers today.

You will know the truth, and the Truth will set you free. 

 

Leave a Reply

