Christmas 2014–Grace

000GraceChristmas Eve is upon us and with it comes sweet release.

Tonight is the night I exhale.

No more shopping…no more waiting…no more planning, and no more baking.

Everything that needs to be done has been done, and whatever didn’t get done, won’t be done.

It is as it should be.

Tonight, I relax, and I allow His Spirit to transform me from a shopping machine, to a willing repository of His grace.

Ahh, grace.

Grace: that magical, mystical mix of love and caring, forgiveness and restoration, humility and exaltation that builds, and saves, and strengthens. How I love it!

Mindful of grace, I thank my God for:

Unconditional love.  I don’t deserve it, nor can I earn it, and yet it is given to me over and over, and over again.  Where would I be without Grace?

Forgiveness, without which we are all destined for slavery, imprisoned in cells of self with no hope of escape.  Forgiven, I am wrapped in warmth, encouraged to let go…prompted to try again, this time with the understanding that I don’t need to be perfect so long as I’m forgiven.  Forgive, as I am forgiven, that is my goal for 2015.

Hope. Hope renews my soul and keeps me from being hardened by a harsh world.  It convinces me that there is a path to the place I want to go, and I can walk it in the here and now.  Hope helps me formulate a plan, stick to it, and benefit from it. Without hope, I would never weigh myself again. Never journal a single meal. Never look for results from my efforts.  Hope keeps me ready to receive the good things in life and keeps me stepping on that scale.

Love.  Who can forget love?  Love is the glue that holds everything else in life together. Love helps me become open and willing to accept the advice of others.  Love guides me.  Love affirms me.  Love enfolds me.  I am loved and in return, I love.

Tonight, I meet with Love and pay homage.  Love is the essence of Christmas, and I, its humble servant. Tonight, I exhale. Ahhhh, that feels good!

Merry Christmas, Everyone!

Leave a Reply

