Owls and Corn Bags

During the holidays, my son invited friends over to our ranch on the hill. Six children and seven adults–the children ranging in age from 2-11 yrs old–enjoyed good times together, including the addition of an indoor pool of spalooshyless fun. We have rarely hosted an event of this type when we couldn’t do it outside, and yet, amazingly, nothing got broken, including the children. 😉

DSC_0016

When it was time to say good-bye, everyone was sad.  Well, almost everyone.  I was sad/glad because I got an unexpected parting gift. Woohoo!  I love nice surprises, with the emphasis on nice.

Sweet Beth, busy mom to four running, screaming, tearing, racing, totally blissful and healthy children (my own grands being the other two screamers), made me a corn bag. An owl-shaped, one-of-a-kind, home-made and substantially blessed corn bag.

I love it!

Here’s a picture of the lil guy, perched on the bed, waiting…
DSC_0361

I whine sometimes about the freezy temperatures in NEPA during January and February, and all the ice we have, and how I can’t wait for spring to come. I try not to do that too much, because truth be told, we live in a beautiful part of the country where we are allowed to enjoy the turning seasons and I love that. I will confess, however, to talking to the trees the other day and saying: Listen, I know you guys need your rest sometimes. We all do, but I am really glad that it’s light outside at 4pm now, and I hope you’re about ready to wake up, cuz I’m sick of all this cold.

Okay, so maybe I didn’t say it in those specific words, but you get the gist.

Anyway, back to my whining…

I have a warm heart and cold feet. So cold. Extremely cold. Like, I-can’t-get-to-sleep-at-night-because-my-feet-are-so-cold, cold feet. Or should I say HAD.

Not anymore.

Ya know what owl-shaped corn bags are good for? Warming the feet of a warm-hearted woman, that’s what.
DSC_0360

(Don’t you love the rough edging on this treasure? I can’t resist something so obviously hand-made. A.D.O.R.A.B.L.E!!)

DSC_0369

Three minutes in the microwave and this baby is toasty. One hour at the bottom of my bed before bedtime and my feet are warm, warm, warm all night long.

“Owl-shaped corn bag, where have you been all my life?!”

DSC_0370

If you don’t have one of these babies, you need to get one. If you can’t find someone who will make you one, maybe I can hook you up. If you’ve never tried a corn bag, oh, my, goodness, you have GOT to try one.

Heavenly!!!

This is my answer to cold feet this winter, and what a wonderful answer it is.  Thank you, Beth, for my owl-y bag of winter warmth.

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

One thought on “Owls and Corn Bags

Leave a Reply

