DIY-Dry Erase Board

Until last night, I had a quirky dry erase board in my bathroom that sorta hung from a hook meant for a robe and was a make-shift sorta do-dad on which I kept important notices to myself. Prayer requests. Pending events. Calendar stuff that I can erase and reapply at will.  It looks like this:

DSC_0917

This board works great with dry erase markers, because the surface is slick and glossy, so the words erase easily, but there was no way to hang it on the wall.  This was how things were with my dry erase board until I saw this sweet burlap, picture frame Do It Yourself project.  I was intrigued.  Having grown up on a dairy farm, I’m familiar with burlap.

Oh, how I wish now that I had saved all the feed bags we threw away or burned as a kid.  I would be rich!

But back to my project:

Lately I’ve been looking at home fashion blogs (and pinterest). I’m feeling pulled back to my farm-house/cottage roots, I guess you could say. I won’t lie, I’ve also been contemplating a new NSV (non-scale victory) project for me.  This weight plateau I’m on continues unabated and I needed something to keep me outta the food.  I don’t sew, but I can follow instructions, so this project was perfect for me.

All it took to make my new board was a cheap picture frame, a half yard of burlap, a pencil, some tape, and some scissors.  I started with the picture frame $3, the burlap $.79 and the scissors I already owned.

DSC_0525

DSC_0531

The burlap is light beige in color, so the dark markers will show up on the board nicely, I think.

First, I took the picture frame apart, and laid the backing on the burlap as a pattern. Then, I cut the burlap to size.

DSC_0528

DSC_0529

This was sooo easy.

DSC_0530

Once everything was cut, I just tucked the burlap into the picture compartment for the frame and voila, DIY dry erase board is born.

DSC_0535

What it looked like from the back.

DSC_0537

Doesn’t it look great?

I love the textured appearance the burlap provides, and the color is great for my bathroom. Plus, I love, LOVE the black frame.  I’ve pretty much decided that black is going to be my contrast color when I decorate the house this spring. It makes accent pieces in the room pop!

DSC_0540

My first DIY in a long, long time!

But how would I get it on the wall?

DSC_0544

Hmm, a puzzle.  Then I thought…

DSC_0552

…what if I make a template out of paper.  Yeah, what if?

I’m going to save that piece of the puzzle for next week, so make sure you come back on Tuesday and check out my hanging methods. Plus, you’ll see more of the DIY burlap picture frame dry erase board then.

I’m so proud of myself for finishing this project.  I’ll talk more about my proclivity for half done projects next week.  For now…

What DIY projects have you done, and how do you say they turned out?  What projects were epic fails?  Do tell.

One thought on “DIY-Dry Erase Board

Leave a Reply

