Prayer Changes Things!

now, and then

now, and then

Back in my heftier body, it was tough getting around. 

I almost never played outside with my kids.

Walking any distance meant being out of breath.

Forget taking the stairs. My thighs and lungs were burning before I got up one flight.

I was convinced God didn’t care about my weight.

He’d made me “big-boned”.

If He wanted me thin, I would have been thin, right?

Wrong.

What I’ve since discovered is:

He was affording me time to realize that although he loved me when my girth was a problem, he had not planned for my girth to be a problem.

I fell into the problem I had with food because…

1.  My mom is a fantastic baker.

2.  Emotionally, it took a long time for me to grow up.

3.  I had not yet found my words, so I didn’t know how to ask for help.

4.  I was too concerned with appearing to have it “all together” and too prideful to reach out for help.

5.  My thinking was futile, especially with regards to my eating.

In those days, I ate…

…to occupy myself when bored.

…to sooth ruffled feathers.

…to deal with life and stress (a biggie for many).

…to sate my fears.

…in an effort to fill a bottomless hole in my soul.

I became a sugar addict.

Then Prayer. Then Change. Then Persistence. Then the Miracle happened.

I have “a ways to go” before I will reach perfection (or the insurance company’s concept of normal), but I am so much better than I used to be.  So much.  The evidence in right there, just the other side of the camera lens. It’s also seen in my trips up multiple stairways, on walks uphill, and in the fact that I can crouch and lift my grands without straining.

Today, if you’re frustrated, afraid, feeling hopeless, helpless, forgotten by God, or just plain tired of the rat race that is overweight and out of shape, these next few words are for you:  For I know what I have planned for you,’ says the LORD. ‘I have plans to prosper you, not to harm you. I have plans to give you a future filled with hope.  Jeremiah 29:11

Hope is sooo, sooo important!

The great thing about this promise is that it is for everyone who puts their trust in God, no  matter the problems they face in life, and no matter how dim the spark of hope seems to be right now.

Your Papa cares about YOU! 

With your cooperation and the limitless power of the Divine One, anything is possible.  Trust Him and be changed!  Let it happen today!

What are you hoping for today? What needs to change in your life?  How can I help? 

Email me with your prayer requests at churchoose@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Prayer Changes Things!

Leave a Reply

