Control Issues

…prepare your minds for action and exercise self-control. Put all your hope in the gracious salvation that will come to you when Jesus Christ is revealed to the world. 1 Peter 1:13

Taking action while maintaining self-control is a tall order for this gal some days.

As I ponder the discipline that is self-control, I ask myself, “Where is the balance between action and self-control?”

It’s tempting to push and shove my way through life, and to think that the type of action Scripture is asking me to take, but I haven’t found that type of action very satisfying.

It leaves me feeling guilty…

…feeling like I’ve been overly harsh and unbending with others.  I don’t wanna be that girl!

Plus, being “pushy” doesn’t work all that well for me most days.  It used to, but I’ve changed. Or others have changed. Or life on this rock has changed.

No, God has definitely changed my heart and the way I interact with the world around me.

When I’m pushy these days, I get frustrated.

I get tired.

So if God doesn’t want that for me, and I don’t believe He does, then what action is the Scripture suggesting I take.

Personal action, to improve me.

Today, Scripture asks me to focus on me. Control myself.

That suggests CHANGE to me.  Yikes!

It’s a tall order, cuz let’s face it, I’m pretty sure I’m okay the way I am. [written tongue in cheek, of course.]

Sarcastic Inner Lori now speaks:  “Sure you are, Lori.

Nothing needs tweaking here.

Nothing needs to be improved upon in your life.

You’re the best of the best of the best! Hoorah!!!”

And then I hear that still, small voice that I imagine Elijah heard in the dessert.  It’s saying:

“Maybe, just maybe, and I’m not commanding anything here…
Maybe, you could work on compassion.
Maybe, you could try walking a mile in “their” shoes.
Maybe, you could surrender a lil bit of your security, in order to pursue an adventure with Me.
Maybe, you could trust Me just a lil bit more, and you a lil bit less.”

Maybe I could!

Where are you making an effort to “let go and let God” in your life? What drives you to self-protect? What would you most like to relinquish to God today? Why?

Leave a Reply

