Ive Got a God Crush

While I was on the road to pick up lunch today I heard Little Big Town’s smash hit, Girl Crush, playing on the radio.

My first thought: that’s a great tune.

My second thought: I wonder if LBT is still taking grief for those lyrics?

I have to admit that the song stays with you long after you’ve heard it.

Obviously, it’s a smash hit!

The lyrics to Girl Crush hinge on some typical country concepts (love, jealousy, cravings), but like lots of country songs, this song is not the kinda song we can sing in church.

My next thought was, “Maybe I can tweak it a lil bit, redeem those lyrics?”

Hey, don’t judge, I was hungry at the time.

King Solomon said there is nothing new under the sun, and implied that we all borrow from each other all the time.  He’s right, so I’ve decided it would be okay for me to borrow from LBT when creating my own version of their famous song. I have decided to call my version, I Got a God Crush.

(Cue musical score)

I got a God crush.
Love to admit it!!
I pray to Papa,‘bout everything.

I got it real bad!
Want everything He gives,
That joy and that love stuff,
Can’t stop thinkin’ ‘bout Him.

I got a God crush.
I got a God crush.
I got a God crush!

2 thoughts on “Ive Got a God Crush

Leave a Reply

