Three Goals Thursday

This week my three goals will be teeny, tiny and created with a bent toward being more positive. I hate all the negativity in the world. How about you?  As a Christian, part of my gig is to be joyful, but I think that is a learned behavior, especially if you grew up in a home with a mom who was fearful all the time.  I did.  Today, I want more out of life.  I don’t want to be afraid, and I don’t want to let my fear of others opinions be the determining factor in my recovery.  I want change, and I’m on a crusade to get it.  I’m using prayer, goal setting, and meditation to pave the way.  Why not join me with three teeny, tiny goals of your own.

This experiment is about me trying to create new habits that will serve me through the course of my life, which is why I post similar goals many Thursdays.  I am also trying to change it up from time to time, though, in order to stretch myself in the process of developing new behaviors/habits built on a foundation of positive thinking and acting.  My thought is: Yes, bad things do happen in life, but our attitude often affects how well we fare when they happen.  I want to fare well, so I’m working on facing tough situations through even tougher means of personal grace.  I’m seeing progress, so I will continue in this vein.

Here are my three goals for this week:

1. I will continue to eat oatmeal for breakfast every day, and will add a colorful veggie salad at my evening meal every night this week. I love veggies and they are plentiful this time of year in NEPA, so this is a win/win winning scenario for me.  Bring on the veg!

2. I will exercise for five minutes in the morning each day before doing anything else. This is a hard one for me because I usually am very stiff in the a.m.s, but I’m willing to do it because I so want to develop a love for early morning exercise. Plus, I am wayyyy less stiff once I do it. “Imagine that,” (she says sarcastically to herself).  I may even buy me one of those wacky commercial workout tapes to help get me moving in the morning. Wouldn’t that be fun?!

Can you say, Richard Simmons?

3. I will work at not letting the food others are eating affect the way I eat. This one was suggested by a blogging friend of mine who always has good ideas for me, and who always has my ear (or rather, eye, since I read, not hear, what he says). I, like millions of other Americans, am distracted from good eats by restaurant fare, food commercials, and community food fests. This week I will strive to blaze my own trail with regards to food choices. I think this one can serve two purposes, because I can also use this as food planning and prep time, a goal that I have had on my teeny, tiny goal list for many weeks.  Again, win/win. Yay!

Those of you who are in the habit of praying, please pray for me as I attempt to stay focused and on track with my three teeny, tiny goals this week. I know they seem very teeny, tiny, but if I can daily apply these goals to my life every day, consistently, soon my lifestyle will change.

Change is not only possible, but probable if we will but try to follow God’s design for our lives! I believe.

What teeny, tiny goals are you going after this week? How do you make change fun? Please share!

3 thoughts on “Three Goals Thursday

  1. J Bird says:

    Lori,
    I so relate to the “fear-factor”! All the negative going on in the world and in our nation can certainly take it’s toll on us for sure! I lived in a house where things were generally out of control as a rule and even though God has blessed me with a pretty stable life for the most part I still become fearful and anxious when I feel life around me is taking a downhill slide.

    I too, have found that fear stifles me and drags me down. It also keeps me from being the best I can be for God. But I have been learning we don’t have to give in to it. We can fear less tomorrow than we do today by just reading through the many “do not fear” statements of Jesus.

    I love this quote from Max Lucato’s book, “Fearless”
    “Fear may fill our world, but it doesn’t have to fill our hearts. It will always knock on the door. Just don’t invite it in for dinner, and for heaven’s sake don’t offer it a bed for the night.”

    Therefore as I set some “tiny goals” for myself this week the first will be.
    1. I will listen to the christian radio station while doing the dishes after supper instead of watching the news on TV and limit watching the news to mid day and for no more than an hour. Because watching the news in the evening or for more than and hour makes me anxious and then don’t sleep well. This may not seem like much but this is coming from a new/politics junky!

    2. I will continue to eat oatmeal or a rice or corn cereal for breakfast to stay away from so many bread products. And will keep working toward better food planning. This has helped me feel less sluggish for the past couple weeks.

    3. I will take one tiny step in self-discipline each day in the area of exercise (Really struggling with this one) by either exercise video or walking our dog (she needs the exercise too).

    Prayers are appreciated and needed for the self-discipline I so lack and my tendency to not stay focused and to run after shiny objects.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lorihoose says:

      “Fear may fill our world, but it doesn’t have to fill our hearts.” AMEN!!! I am with you on that one, Jean.

      I also relate to the problem of distraction with regards to shiny objects. Yeah, I so get that!

      How are you doing with the goal to not watch so much news? A great goal!!! I, too, am a news junkie, but without a regular fix. My guys rant incessantly when the news is on at our house, so we don’t watch it much. They can’t handle it, and I don’t need it, though I must confess to loving it. Were it profitable financially, I would watch CNN or court TV all day every day, I think. Good thing it is not. LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

