Three Goals Thursday a Day Late

000hard on yourself

I LOVE this meme.  It reminds me to pause from my self criticisms, be they many and of differing varieties given the day, and focus on my own unique brand of cool given me by my Papa God.

He don’t make junk, that’s for sure!

I wanted to pop in here real quick and update you all on my three goals for last week, before sharing my three goals for this week with you.

I missed my Three Goals Thursday post here yesterday, but hey, better late than never, right?

I feel pretty good about the three goals I made for last week. They involved evaluating my foods, eating certain types of food, getting a teeny, tiny bit of exercise each morning, and staying positive. All good things, right?

Sidebar: I have a few friends on facebook who have been particularly negative lately, and a bit passive-aggressive. Stop that!  Look for the gold lining in life, please. You guys are bumming me out.

Its’ not passive-aggressive of me to say that, is it?

Back to my goals: I feel I made some real progress this week, especially in the area of positive affirmations.  I also feel like I did well with the food–well, all except for that one night when we went to the fair. Even there, I didn’t go hog wild.  I ate an appropriate amount of food, and even turned down stuff offered to me that I didn’t really care about. That’s progress, and I’m giving all the credit for it to the Holy Spirit working in me to “get ‘er done.”  I’m praying, a lot, and I’m meditating on my goals, a lot.  I’m also seeing progress: a lot for such teeny, tiny changes being made.

This week’s goals:

1.  Continue to eat oatmeal for breakfast each morning, and pay special attention to portion sizes with all foods.

2.  Perform five minutes of exercise before doing anything else in the morning.

3.  Read something positive that requires real thought every day this week.

If you’re new to my Three Goals Thursday postings, let me give you a brief explanation of what I’m trying to accomplish here.  These goals are about challenging myself to make teeny, tiny changes, so as to produce winning scenarios for me, so as to build helpful habits, so as to eliminate some of the struggle I have with staying the course in life.

If you are the praying type, pray for me as I attempt this list this week.

And before I close, a lil story of how helpful habits can be. Years ago I decided that I wanted a clean range top in my life.  Long story made short, I believed the concept of habit formation that says you can create a new habit in 21 days, if you repeat the same practice every day and really really REALLY want to form the habit. I did, so I did. I put a sign over my sink that read:  The dishes are not done until the stove top is cleaned.

It was really that simple, then I set to work being methodical in my manner with regards to the dishes and the stove top.  Within one month I had formed a habit that serves me all these years later. I still CANNOT put the dish cloth away, or the water down the drain, UNTIL I clean that stove top.  Cleaning that range top happens effortless for me now, whereas before building the habit, it was work, work, work.

Habits Help!

What habit are you working on this week?  How badly do you want to see it take root in your life?

 

 

Leave a Reply

