Be Careful Lil Eyes What You See

DSC_0534

I spy with my lil eye…

We play this game in the car with *A* all the time.  Just hearing him say those words is enough to melt your heart.  He’s a lil dutchy still, but way better at his pronunciations than most of the four-year-olds I know.

He’s such a cutie pie.  Love that boy!

The game of I spy reminds me of a song I learned to sing eons ago in VBS. It went like this:

Be careful lil eyes what you see,

Be careful lil eyes what you see,

For the Father up above is looking down with love,

So be careful lil eyes what you see.

Subsequent stanzas remind lil folks to be careful what you say, what you hear, what you watch, where you go, and what you do.  It’s a cute lil song about keeping watch over your soul and being self-controlled.  I imagine you could also say it’s about not conforming to the traditions of this world, but being transformed by the amazing saving power of God’s grace.  I was reminded of its lessons last week when I was listening to a book on tape in the car on the way to work.

The story was a murder mystery.  The killer was a mind manipulator.  She hypnotized people and then forced them to commit suicide in an attempt to cover up her sister’s murder, committed by her own hand. The scene that I was listening to that morning was graphic.  I kinda felt like it was going to be too much for me to bear, but instead of turning it off or fast forwarding through that scene, I listened as my stomach churned.

After being exposed to that audio rendition of a twisted attempts at suicide by a psycho killer I was damaged.  I thought about the grizzly scene all day.

I mean ALL DAY LONG! 

I could not shake the image that had been painted on the walls of my mind, no matter how I tried.

I tried!

I really TRIED, but the damage was done. The image was there and I could not easily erase it.

At lunch time I drove through the McDs fast food lane and got me a premium chicken wrap, grilled, no sauces, thank you.  As I ate my lunch, all I could think of was how the psycho killed had tried to eliminate her victim.

Ugh!

I will probably never, ever be able to eat a premium chicken wrap again.  The audio book ruined them for me, forever.

Thankfully, and by God’s grace, I have been able to get that image of the murder scene out of my head, but the question to be begged here is: “Why wasn’t I more careful about putting it in my head in the first place?”  Ahhhh!

It’s a good question!

A great question!!!

Some people like to be scared witless by horror films or slasher movies. I do not.  I know God would not have me watching such things on a regular basis, certainly not for its entertainment value (if any exists at all, which I doubt), but I thought a book on tape would be harmless.  It wasn’t.

What I’m left with is living with the results of my book listening habit this time around, and every time I listen when I ought to turn the volume down in life. 

Next time I will more quickly remember the lil ditty I learned all those years ago, and maybe sing a bar or two.

Be careful Lori Girl what you do, be careful Lori Girl what you do, for the Father up above is looking down with love, so be careful Lori Girl what you do!

When have you watched or listened to something that disturbed your inner peace?  What steps have you taken to limit your TV time, or be more selective with your programming choices?

Leave a Reply

