Three Goals Thursday-Switching Things up in November

ThreeGoals-AlternativeIt’s Thursday once again, time to report on my goals for this week.

Right out of the gate, I want to celebrate! [cue music]

I did a stellar job meeting all my objectives this week! 

Woohoo!!! It feels good to type that!!!!

This week, I meditated five minutes each day. I exercised eleven minutes each morning, and I ate my oatmeal six out of seven days this week.

I am thrilled to report that I can feel habits forming in my life and changes taking place in my body.

What changes have I seen?

More regular bathroom habits. Yay! TMI, I know, but this is an important goal for any women my age, so just hurry along and read the other, less graphic, results if this one makes you wince.  😉

Less stiffness during the day.  Yay!

Much more muscle tone and definition in my legs and arms. Yay!

A greater sense of what I need to do spiritually to clean up some of the debris of the past and move forward with relationships that support my goals and benefit my family.

More serenity.  Not a small thing, I assure you.

My Three Teeny, Tiny Goals for this week:

Here is where we take a detour, are you with me?

What I have decided to do for the remainder of November is keep my goals static.

That’s right: with the exception of one thing (the addition of one minute to my morning exercise routine), I will be working on the same goals through the month of November.

The holidays are coming soon, and I want to have my habits for eating and exercising firmly in place and serving me before the sugary stuff starts sneaking into the break room at work.  I want to have my head about me as I shop for gifts for family members, and I want to have the stamina I need to get through the holiday blur.  I want a clear head and a heart at peace, in order to honor the Savior’s birth with my faithful friends.  I want to avoid a sugar coma during November and December.  To this end, I will not be changing up my goals again until the first of the year, but I will be reporting on those goals each Thursday, so that I don’t lose momentum and I am able to keep that accountability factor that means so much to my success firmly in place.

I have toyed with the idea of starting a Three Goals Thursday Facebook page.  If you’re interested, contact me at churchoose@gmail.com. I’ll add you to the list, if and when I build the page. We can discuss how it would work when you email me.

My Three Teeny Tiny Goals for November are:

  1. I will eat oatmeal for breakfast every morning in November.
  2. I will exercise for 12 minutes each morning before doing anything else.
  3. I will meditate for 5 minutes each morning, seeking to have a better understanding of my needs and God’s power to fuel each day.

If you are the praying type, pray for me as I move through this month of busyness, please.  If you are the praying type, let me know, and I’ll pray for you! 🙂

What goals do you have for yourself going into the holiday season?  What habits would you like to change before the end of the year, so that you can get a running start on 2016?

7 thoughts on “Three Goals Thursday-Switching Things up in November

  1. Alice says:

    It feels fantastic creating a ‘new normal’. Thank you for the inspiring read. My own goal is to meditate every day, as that is the one thing that is neglected if I’m tired or in a hurry. Xxx

    Like

    • lorihoose says:

      I have such a struggle with meditation. I want to talk, arrange, dictate, suggest, urge, cojole, and direct God’s movements, instead of just reading His Word, concentrating on what He is saying, and letting go of my agenda. Do you struggle with that? Why is meditation so hard?

      Like

      • Alice says:

        My mind just won’t shut up when I meditate, yes like you I find it hard to let go of my agenda. I noticed today that I avoid meditation and put it off. I think that’s procrastination due a fear of not doing it ‘right’ or not being ‘good enough’ at meditation. Writing that down shows me how silly it is 😉 we all have to start somewhere and mastery of anything takes time of course. Xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • lorihoose says:

        You’re right, mastery does take time. Its hard to shut down that inner monologue, but I think we have to give ourselves credit for even trying the practice of meditation. Trying shows how desperately we want to improve our listening abilities through this important discipline.

        I find your comment that we consider ourselves not good enough at meditation, and that this thought keeps us from entering into the quiet. I agree! Need to work on that silly notion, but yeah, I agree, I feel that way sometimes.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Alice says:

        A funny thing happened today after our conversation. I tried meditating in a chair with my head and back supported. It was so much easier! I’ve struggled with posture before, sitting up with no support and this was so much easier. Easy is what it’s all about. Trying had to meditate is an oxymoron, of course. Seems obvious but hard to avoid. Good luck on your continuing journey xxx

        Like

      • lorihoose says:

        I often meditate in bed, so I’m leaning against a pillow for support.
        My only danger, falling asleep while I try to hear Him speak.
        Usually I try meditating after I exercise, though, so by then I’m as fully awake as it gets in the morning.

        I will say, I am NOT a morning person, so these three teeny, tiny goals of mine are changing things up for me in the a.m.

        Like

Leave a Reply

