Goals-Nov 19 2015

ThreeGoals-Alternative

Three goals is what I’m here to share with you today.

Well, not really three goals, but rather, my progress with those three teeny, tiny goals I have set for myself in November.

Eat..Exercise…Meditate–this is what I’m trying to do. 

How am I doing with my November Goals?

I am doing well!

In fact, very well.

In fact, I am doing well with my goals in spite of…

–A continuing disconnect with a friend that has challenged me emotionally.

–Daylight Savings Time changes in NEPA, which have wreaked havoc with my sleep patterns.

–Temptation’s allure to sleep in, skip my routines, and/or go at them at half speed and with lil enthusiasm.

If you have not read a Three Goals Thursday post of mine before, let me explain what I am doing with this initiative.  I am challenging myself to set three goals every week, as a part of my regular routine in the hope of developing some eating and exercise habits that will unconsciously serve me in the future.  I am experimenting with this method for convincing my brain that when I set a goal in place, I WILL WIN!!!

The secret behind this training with the brain is the setting of teeny, tiny goals that are EASILY achievable. Setting such goals has become a habit for me, and the result has been I am WINNING on a regular basis.

Woohoo, it feels good to WIN on a REGULAR basis!

This week I achieved these goals:

I ate oatmeal for breakfast every day.

I exercised for 12 minutes every morning.

I’m also read and meditated for 5 minutes every day.

One facets of success for me with my goals has been to perform the actions attached to them early in the day. That way, I don’t lose steam or give in to temptation to not do them that day. I do allow myself the latitude to do them later in the day if need be, but for me, achieving my goals early is the secret to continuing success.

I’m happy to say that keeping the same goals through November has been working out for me. I was afraid it would not.

What I am learning as a result of my goal-setting initiative:

–Even when I don’t feel like it, I can do those things I have promised to myself I will do.

–I am a WINNER EVERY TIME I complete the goals I have set for myself, no matter that goal’s size.

–I don’t have to allow feelings to rule in my life.  Yeah!  Feelings are not dependable, AT ALL!

–Setting goals makes me 100% more likely to attain them, than not setting them.

–Forward movement demands a plan and action—so I plan, plan, plan, and then do, do, do!

What discoveries have you made about yourself, as you have been working diligently to achieve your teeny, tiny goal list?  What makes you feel like a winner?

2 thoughts on “Goals-Nov 19 2015

  1. J Bird says:

    This post really got my attention! This whole teeny tiny 3 goals light just came on. I’m a little slow on the uptake I guess. But after reading this I think I know why I have not succeeded.
    Keep posting dear lady, your success is an inspiration for me to not quit trying.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lorihoose says:

      I am soooo loving this initiative, Jean. So loving winning every day. And I’m learning alot about who I am, what motivates me, and how I can train myself to be the kind of person I want to be, one teeny, tiny goal at a time. It’s working and I couldn’t be happier.

      Keep going, my friend. When you fall down, get back up. When you stumble, regroup. When you don’t feel like setting a teeny, tiny goal–THAT is the day when you need to plan your goal MOST of ALL! Set it anyway.

      Never give up on yourself. I believe in You!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

