TGT Update

TGT mast head

This morning was a rough one.  I did not want to get out of bed.  I did not want to do my exercises.  I did not want to think about posting three goals and getting started on meeting them. I did not want...

What did I do when I didn’t want to do anything?  I just did it!

I got up anyway, albeit reluctantly.

I did my exercises anyway, although not with as much gusto as in previous days.

I packed my oatmeal anyway.

I praised the Lord anyway, because today I have another chance to fight this fight against the aging process and excess fat.  And so, I began my day grateful.

I did the things I didn’t want to do today because habits are built when we repeatedly do those things that support our goals, and I want to support my goals.  Moreover, I want to CRUSH my goals. I may not go at them with the same gusto every day, but good-night, I am committed to seeing them completed each week.  Part of my commitment comes from the readers of this blog.

Yep, you heard me right. YOU keep me on track!

On those days when I don’t want to do what I ought to do I think of my goals, and I think of the habits that still need to be built, and I think of You, those beautiful, wonderful, brilliant, and loving musk oxen out there who I am accountable to each week when another Thursday rolls around and I once again post my results from last week’s goal setting session.

Note: reference to musk oxen will only be understood by my Parks and Rec fan readers.  Sorry to the rest of you, but I couldn’t help myself.  I have a Galentine’s party coming up soon, and I am wayyyy excited about it.  As a result, P&R is on my mind this week.

But seriously…

You are one piece of my three prong approach to health and wellness.  My readers are that community that means a lot to someone like me, who is daily struggling to get better.

MY THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS FROM LAST WEEK

1. Continue on with morning oatmeal, exercise, and paying close attention to the type of foods I’m eating and in what amounts.

2. Buy new work shoes, whether they are sale priced or not.

3. Get those Christmas “Thank You’s” in the mail.

I gotta say that overall I did pretty well with my goals this week.  Better than good. Great!   I tackled some long-standing procrastination with my goals and got things done.  Yay!  I’m excited at how things turned out.

HERE’S HOW I DID WITH LAST WEEKS’ GOALS

Goal No. 1 was for me to pay closer attention to my eating, exercise and food choices.  I did pretty well at all three.  I ordered a new exercise video on line with some of the money I got from a gift card last week. Woohoo!  The DVD arrived last night, so I will be trying it out this evening. If you wanna shake things up with me and the video, stop by.  The tea pot is always on for visitors.  Just call ahead, to make sure I have my exercise duds on, and then we’ll rock the foundation on this old house.  🙂

Goal No. 2 was for me to quit procrastinating and buy new shoes.  I did it. I pulled the trigger on my new shoe order.  Woohoo!!!  I got the shoes on sale and with that gift card I mentioned earlier, so they cost me NADA.  That’s a great price to pay for long-lasting, above average, pricey, but needed work shoes.  The shoes have not come in the mail yet, but they soon will. I will let you know how they feel on my feet once they’ve arrived. They are an exact match to the shoes I have now, but with new outer soles, new insoles, and new, shiny uppers.  I can’t wait to celebrate with a good fitting, good feeling new shoe!

Goal No. 3? Well, I got it done at the office, which was part of the goal. I did not get the home cards done, but I still have 12 hrs to accomplish that task today. Truthfully, I doubt I will get those home cards done today (having just invited half the neighborhood over to exercise with me this evening), but I did get the cards for the office done.  Due to that fact, I am registering this a WIN!  Yay, me!  🙂

 

MY THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS FOR THIS WEEK

1. Continue on with my oatmeal and 15 minutes of exercise in the morning.

2. Meditate for 5 minutes each morning.

3. Try my hand at counting sugar grams eaten this week. I need to get a better handle on that piece of the puzzle.

I had a bit of a scare this week and a lil reprimand.  When I went for my annual eye exam, my doc saw that I had a bit of a darkness over on one side upon initial inspection of the ole peepers.  After adding drops to dilate the eye and get a closer look, he said I had the very beginnings of a cataract.

Woohoo, and WHHHAAAAT?!!!!

Stupid golden years, anyway. What good are they to me?!

Still, this got my attention!!!

Doc talked about the back of my eye looking like a paradise and he had no recommendation beyond getting new glasses for the new year, but he also talked about eye health related to eating and diet. This week I am making a concerted effort to keep better track of my sugar intake. That will be my goal, along with trying out that new exercise video.

I’ll stop back during the week and let you know how it goes. Until then…

What teeny, tiny goal do you need to set for yourself this week, that will keep you moving forward in life?  Do you have a big goal that needs to be whittled down to size?  How will you do that this week?

4 thoughts on “TGT Update

  1. J Bird says:

    I started setting my teeny tiny goals last Thursday (for about the 5th time) but this time added an accountability partner and it did make a difference.
    I set goals that I realized after a couple days weren’t quite teeny tiny enough. But since I am always stopping and starting over again because I don’t have things just right I left them in place and did my best and I made some progress along the way.
    I didn’t meet every goal but I made movement in the right direction.
    I will be sending my progress report and my 3 teeny tiny goals for this week to my accountability partner tonight, not quite ready to go public with it all yet but so thankful for finally getting started and the 3 successes I have had this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lorihoose says:

      I am sure that you’re gonna CRUSH those goals this week and next, J! You know what they say about persistence, you have to try, try again. I’m over here applauding you for NEVER giving up! Yay, You!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

