3 Goals Thursday-Last One in January

TGT mast head

Here we are at Thursday again. My, my the weeks are flying by, aren’t they?

Time for another update and three more goals!

MY THREE TEENY TINY GOALS FOR LAST WEEK

1 Increase daily exercise to 18 minutes.

2 Continue to meditate on a daily basis, preferably in the morning. I’ve been slipping on this one recently, so want to get it back on my list.

3 Track my sugar intake at least one day this week, more if I want, but one day for sure.

HOW DID I DO?

Goal No. 1 Great! I exercised every morning this week for 18 minutes, except one. That day I was extremely hurty, so I did not clock the time I spent exercising. I know I did a full set of each exercise I usually do, but they were much less strenuous than normal and it hurt a lot. Most mornings my exercise include calisthenics, plus a lil work on the recumbent bike. This week was no different, although I will admit that I spent more time on the bike and less time on the leg lifts this week.

Goal No. 2 Great! I can’t think of a day this week that I didn’t read my Bible and ask God to direct my thoughts while doing it. I needed that time with Papa this week, as the week held a few stress-marks (as opposed to stretch marks, which are far worse–ask any woman and she’ll tell you so).  I think the stress might have added to my aching body this week, but who knows. At least my mind was engaged in non-hurty activities, and that was good.

I hear so much more when I listen with the Word in my lap. Imagine that. 😉

Goal No. 3 Really Good! I logged all my sugar intake this week, and I found an accountability partner, but I did not go over the entire log with her. I might still do that. I have the rest of today to accomplish it, but I do have a dinner date tonight, so maybe not.  Since my teeny tiny goal was to only track the sugar for one day, I did better than I planned to do. Yay! Another winning scenario with which to train my brain!!!

HOW I FEEL ABOUT HOW I DID WITH MY GOALS

This week has been a tough one. I have hurt physically and struggled with staying out of the sugar.

Feelings are an important part of the recovery journey, especially for a sugar addict like me. How I feel on any given day, whether I am encouraged or discouraged, feisty or floundering–it all has an effect on how I eat. When I’m stressed, I want more sugar, naturally. When I’m calm, I’m less likely to seek out comfort foods. Good or bad, that’s how it goes with me.

This week was stressful, I won’t lie, but I did not binge any day this week, so I feel pretty good about my progress with three teeny, tiny goals.

THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS FOR NEXT WEEK

Today is probably not the best day to set these goals. Like I said earlier in this post, I’m hurting and I’m a little flat emotionally today. Regardless, 3 Goals Thursday waits for no mood, so here we go….

This week, my goals will be to:

1 Continue exercising in the morning, 16-18 minutes in duration each day.

2 Continue meditating each day.

3 Take a 3-pronged approach to food accountability this week.

That last goal means that I will count calories one day, meal plan one day, and count sugar intake one day this week. I will not do these all on the same day, but will dedicate 3 separate days to better health/planning; an homage to my 3 Goals Thursday initiative.

I’m hoping for less aching and more stretching this week, along with a better understanding of how I eat and how I can improve on that process. I’m not a machine, so progress will differ given the day. Some days I wish I were a machine, but most of the time I’m glad to just be me.

When have you found yourself pushing through the pain to reach your goal? What did you learn about “being you” when that happened to you?

 

2 thoughts on “3 Goals Thursday-Last One in January

  1. J Bird says:

    Wow, I am so impressed by your progress and your commitment to continue in your 3 goals!
    You have had a stellar week for sure!!
    You are wise to back down a little on the exercise. When your body hurts it is giving you a message. The old adage “work through the pain” is not really good advice unless it is just some sore muscles because your out of shape. But you have been exercising for awhile . Listen to your body!
    You continue to inspire me to continue with my own 3 teeny tiny goals!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

