Missed Opportunities

I feel guilty today.

Let me tell you why.

On Sunday we had a dessert auction at church. Proceeds from the sale benefited a missions group that will be traveling to Haiti at the end of the month.

Woohoo! I love missions and I’m excited for this group.

Dessert Auctions are awesome!!!

The desserts that were offered at this auction all looked delicious. Most were home made! We bought two pans of brownies. Ummm, chocolatey goodness in a pan. They were extra rich and extra chocolatey, and oh, so yummy. I brought one pan to work with me today, and they are quickly being mowed down.

Delicious!!!

We had fun at the auction.

The monies raised will go to a good cause.

We all did this together, and it’s always nice to unite together in purpose for a good cause.

Everything should have been fine and dandy regarding this event, but there was snag.  A wrinkle in my time while there.

You see, there was a gramma and her grand-daughter sitting at the table behind us at the auction.  My back was to them where I was seated and I didn’t see what they were up to during the auction, but someone else did.

In the fun and excitement that was the auction process, this grandma bid on a dessert, but she was outbid. I’m not sure how many times this happened, and I can’t say for sure, but I’m pretty sure the child went away from the church without dessert.

When I found out about gramma being outbid at the auction, I felt sad.

I wished I had been clued into the situation sooner than I was. We had two (count them, two), pans of brownies at our table.  We could have easily given one of them to this family and still had plenty for ourselves. We didn’t need any, but we wanted to help the mission team meet their goal.

The problem is, I think I might have missed God’s bigger goal in the process of meeting a small goal.

I remember another time when Mr and me took our grands to a dessert auction. The older grand asked me when he could eat some dessert, and when I tried to explain that we couldn’t eat whatever yummy dessert we saw on display, he didn’t understand. Every church supper he’d ever attended before this, dessert was FREE for the asking. Why not now?

It’s hard to explain these things to kids.

Let me be clear here, I am not faulting anyone or anything but me for missing this opportunity.  I only wish I hadn’t missed my opportunity to share my brownies with a lil girl who got lost in the hustle and bustle of things.

Next time, I hope I will have eyes to see need on a bigger scale.

Next time…

Have you ever missed an opportunity to do something good and regretted it afterward? How do you make sure you see the immediate needs, without losing sight of the long-range goals in life?

2 thoughts on “Missed Opportunities

  1. J Bird says:

    Oh, how easy it is to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of life in the middle of our own struggles and yes, even in the good things of life.
    I know that there have been times when I have missed opportunities for sure! I regret those lost opportunities and ask God every day to open my eyes and ears to the needs of others around me and to be sensitive the open doors of opportunity that He provides.
    I am so thankful that He is patient with us and even grants us other opportunities but the opportunity that is missed can’t be recaptured. Therefore I shouldn’t continue to mourn the loss but must learn from it and move forward with eyes and ears that are more sensitive to the struggles, big and little, of others around us.
    Because of this reminder I will be looking for someone who needs a brownie, a hug, someone to talk to or take a walk with, a ride somewhere or just someone to listen.
    Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

