TGT mast head

Happy Thursday, everyone!

It has been a happy week for me, and a very happy four days of that time was spent with two wee boys.  It was hard leaving them this morning, their eyes all full of sleep and their lil bodies wanting to be snuggled. Alas, duty called and I had to go to work.

Day jobs are not all that fun some days!

As I drove to work today, I wondered what I choose to set as my three teeny, tiny goals for this week. Before I share them with you, I want to report on the past week’s goals.

MY THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS FOR LAST WEEK WERE…

1 Spend quality time moving with/enjoying the wee ones, doing something extra special on Valentine’s Day.

2 Do 3 things that reflect faith and empowerment, and count calories 3 days.

3 Exercise each morning, and eat the rainbow every day.

HOW I DID WITH MY GOALS

I did okay with my goals this week, but not as well as I would have liked. Still, I spent quality time with the wee ones, enjoying them and moving a lot over the last week. Yay, me!

I also exercised each day last week!  Some days I did morning exercises in addition to the granna movement that occurred naturally throughout the day.

The faith and empowerment goal was a good one for me this week! My default tendency is to color strictly inside the lines and make sure everyone else does too [insert frustrated control freak tendency here], which sometimes doesn’t translate well with others.  They don’t understand, and too harsh rules set up adversarial scenarios—not at all what a good granna  wants for her time with her grands.  Not at all!  This week, we changed what we were doing and didn’t expect so much, of ourselves or any one else.

Again, yay!

We ate lots of veggies this week, treating the boys to cooked sushi twice. The Older loves that stuff. The Younger is more of a sugar addict, like his gran, but this week we made sure neither of us went overboard. I had a salty lunch and supper yesterday, so my weight was up a bit today, but I know its water gain/retaining fluid. I’m using intermittent fasting and focusing on small portions to deal with that dilemma today.

WINNING THROUGH DELIBERATION THIS WEEK

Deliberate plans bring deliberate successes, this I know. My goal list has made that clear to me since we began working life together, so I’m being deliberate today with my food and my planning.

I’m also planning to be deliberate in working with the goals this week.

This week I’m keeping my goals especially small, so as to “win” many times. I have a friend that I want to be deliberate in spending time with this week. I also have an important steering meeting on Saturday that I want to attend,  and I’m hoping to add to the wisdom in the room that day, in positive ways. Both of these desires will be going on my goal list this week.

MY THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS

1 Send a special note to my friend this week, telling her how proud I am of her for what she’s planning to do and telling her honestly, from my heart, how much I respect her can-do spirit!

2 Bring my concept of faith and empowerment into the meeting I will be attending on Saturday.

3 Exercise for 15 minutes each day.

I’m looking forward to another week of success built through this habit of intentional living (goal-setting). I know acting in deliberate ways paves the path to success for me and many others. Setting goals doesn’t have to be hard work or tedious stuff. It can be fun!

If what you want is to live more deliberately, why not give three teeny, tiny goals a try. It feels great to do what you said you would do, even when you don’t do it perfectly. Especially when you don’t do it perfectly!

What most often trips you up on your way to success? What three teeny, tiny things can you do to feel better about yourself this week, and move closer to your goal?

3 thoughts on “

  1. J Bird says:

    Looks to me like you had a win, win, win week !
    Love the goals you have set for next week! Believing that more blessings will await you and those you serve and encourage along the way this week as you strive to meet your goals. Because when you succeed you bring others along the way to believe they can succeed, again a win, win!!
    I for one need that this week!

    I have been tripped up in a big way this week for several reasons. Holiday weekend enter bacon,eggs & toast for breakfast.
    GI flu/virus two days exit any actual food for breakfast, lunch or dinner for 2 days
    Walk only 2 days (to sick 3 days and to lazy, I mean unmotivated 🙂 2 days
    Ready for work by 9:30 three days, to sick the other 2 days.
    Week total = failed week.

    New goals: back to basics – I need some wins this week for sure.
    1. oatmeal every day
    2. Walk 10 minutes every day
    3. clean out one drawer or small cupboard every day

    Liked by 1 person

    • lorihoose says:

      I love that you are not giving up on your goals, Jean. Repetition is the only form of permanence we can achieve in this changing world, so I think it is important for us to remember to repeat again and again those things that we know have worked for us. Jesus lived a repetitious life, as he moved in the same ways, offered help to the same types of people, repeated the same message of salvation and hope through the cross and His blood again, and again, and again. We never tire hearing about it, because it works still today.

      I am praying for you this week with your goals, and I know you are praying for me, with mine. Together, we get better!!!!

      Keep lookin’ up, and keep eating that oatmeal. It does a body good!!! 🙂

      Like

      • J Bird says:

        Praying for you too Sister! You have this goal thing down to a science I think. Following your lead for sure and that is a big part of why I don’t give up! Yes, together we do better, I think God has proved that out in our friendship. Things are already better this morning. Had my oatmeal and in the office on time. Haven’t gotten to the drawer cleaning or exercise but have a time and a plan for that later today…

        Like

Leave a Reply

