Galatians 6 Wisdom

As many of you know, I write a devotional for my church’s egroup most weekdays. This is a habit I have been developing for some time now, one that has turned my private meditation time into a quasi public expression of my faith.

I thoroughly enjoy the time I spend listening to God in the moments when I’m writing for Him.  Sometimes, when the writing is done and posted and I reread the devotional, I’m amazed that those words came out of my fingertips…my thoughts.

Reality:  They did not!  I may have typed them, but they are truths that God shared with me, not I with Him.  What a blessing it is to hear from Papa God in my listening times, and what a thrill to know that I can rely on Him to keep in touch with me everyday simply by turning the pages of His book, the Bible.

I’m one blessed girl!!!

Yesterday, God showed up in a big way during my morning devotions. As I read over what I had penned and edited it for publication today, I was again impressed by what God helped me capture on the page.  I know these thoughts came out of my head, but I believe they were God-inspired.

I wanted to share them with you today.

Please think about what the Spirit might be saying to you or about your church community as you read today.  I feel this message is close to God’s heart and a word of wisdom for the body of Christ at this time.

Thank you, Papa, for always coming through for us; for speaking kindly and clearly to our hearts; for refining our spirits with Your Spirit on a daily basis; for loving us, even when all we do is find fault everywhere we go.  Help us to do better in the days to come, I pray, asking in Jesus’ powerful Name! Amen.

Today’s devotional message:

000burdens beared

Brothers and sisters, if someone is caught in a sin, you who live by the Spirit should restore that person gently. But watch yourselves, or you also may be tempted. Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ. Galatians 6:1-2

Encourage one another… 1 Thess 5:11

“The faultfinder will find faults even in Paradise.” Henry David Thoreau

With his quote, Thoreau begs the question: Do I recognize myself in every bleak portrait I see? Finding fault and pointing fingers is a habit not formed during our time with Jesus. Instead, it’s a behavior that plagues our sin nature, that part of us that clings like sticky sap to our immortal souls. It’s easy to adopt a mindset that says, I’m right and she’s wrong, and in so doing add to the heavy burden someone already bears. Much harder do we find the fight for unity and inclusion, and our ultimate goal of being Saints soaked in holy blood.

Self-sacrifice is hard. Relieving ourselves at others expense, not so much. We need to be the masters of our actions, and not operate the other way round.

Chronic fault-finding is a flaw in our makeup that needs to be expunged by God’s clarifying Presence in our lives. Until it is, we will stumble around, trying to bear one another’s burdens but never being able to do this important work we have been commanded to do.

Faultfinding makes us fearful to associate with the one in trouble.

It propels us away from God’s revealed solutions for those heavy sin burdens we carry, not toward them.

It keeps us in bondage to self.

Today, we see among us more joy and forgiveness than faultfinding and bickering, and so it should be, but we also see the need to pray for those who still struggle with this temptation. Faultfinding doesn’t help. Coming along side to carry another’s burden does. Let’s be burden-bearers today.

God being our Helper, we can smash the strongholds satan has erected in our lives and in our churches.

Hallelujah, what a Savior!

Have you seen the ugliness of faultfinding active in any corner of God’s kingdom?  When has this issue been a problem for you?

Leave a Reply

