All About the Goals

000A-SMART-goal-480x390

THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS WERE SET LAST WEEK

They were:

1 Drink green tea instead of coffee in the morning at least 4 days this week.

2 Listen to more Dean Ornish videos and contact his organization to learn more about his program.

3 Eat oatmeal every day and exercise every day, following routines already established.

HOW DID I DO?

1  FAIL. I drank green tea only once for my morning beverage, and didn’t even remember this goal had been set for most of the week.  Ugh!  I had to look it up twice, to see what that third goal was, and on one of those searches I didn’t drink the green tea, even thought I knew it was a goal of mine.  Guess this wasn’t the right goal for me this week.  I will change it up for next week.

2  SUCCESS!!!  I listened to  more than one Dean Ornish You Tube presentation this week and I read most of his web site info. I did not contact his organization, but since I did so much good work regarding his eating plan and my diet, I’m calling this a win.

3  YES, YES, YES–I DID IT!!!  I ate my oatmeal every day but today, cuz I ran out and was too lazy to make more last night, cuz I had company, and when they left I was tired, and I still needed to get my exercise in, and blah, blah, blah.  Excuses abound, but since I ate right all week long, except for today, I’m feeling pretty good right now.  I also did exercise every day/night this week. Most of it was done on the bike.  Often I did more than 15 minutes.

THINGS I LEARNED WHILE WORKING ON MY GOALS THIS WEEK

I need to spend more time practicing self care.

Vitamin D levels that are not right are dangerous.

When HDL levels fall below 40 (the norm for North Americans), exercise will bring them up quickly.

Even small incremental changes produce big benefits in our lives.

Any change is an improvement on no change.

If nothing changes, nothing changes.

Action, Action, Action is the word!!!

3 TEENY, TINY GOALS FOR THE WEEK

1  Continue on with diet and exercise as previously established.

2  Pay increased attention to prompts from Papa to pray for others.

3  Get those blood labs done-what in the world are you waiting for?

WHEN I SHOUT AT MYSELF

When I shout at myself (see goal 3 above), it is because I’m procrastinating again.  Why do I do it?  So I can live in denial. So I don’t have to face the truth. So I don’t have to do anything other than what I want to do.  So I can be a free spirit. So, so, so…

Again, excuses abound, but the reality of my situation is that denying means death. Seriously.  I need to take action and if I don’t serious consequences will ensue.

Not may ensue. WILL ensue.

This week I will be mindful of how much I can do to aid myself in my approach to a happy, joyous, and free life.  I will be blogging on that topic next week, so look for that post.

Are you happy, joyous, and free with the life you’ve chosen to live?  What goal could you set for yourself this week that would move you closer to joy, if indeed you feel the need to move closer?

Please share your thoughts in the comment section below. Together, we get better!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

