TGT mast head

Some weeks look better than others on a pie chart.

This week, my pie chart looks like somebody yanked it off the wall, threw it to the ground, stomped on it with Timberland boots and then twisted for effect!  Yep, it was that messy.  Think blueberry pie all over your new beige carpet. You got the idea.

I shared with a friend who is on her own quest to set goals and work toward them each week, that I had no clue what I was going to set as my three teeny, tiny goals this week.  My progress last week was less than stellar, but then again, I had a lot of stuff going on for the least two weeks.  I’m easily distracted by shiny things, so you can imagine how frayed my neural synapses (or is that synapsi?), were this week.  Still, I am not willing to surrender my pursuit of a more intentional life, so onward and upward we go with my three new goals for this week.

THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS FOR THIS WEEK

Since I did not score 100 on my habit exercises this week, I will not talk at length about what I did with my goals the last 7 days.  I will set 3 new goals though.

1 Continue on with eating and exercise goals as previously stated. This is working for me, so I’m going to keep doing it for a while.

2 At the end of each work day spend some quality time with Mr, asking him once again the conversation starting question: What concerns you today? This has always proven a great investment of my time and his, which is why I’m resurrecting this goal.

3 Get my blood labs done. Still have not done that, so on the list it goes again.

Some weeks are better than others. That’s not to excuse my lackluster habit building abilities this week, but does explain why some of my goals didn’t get done.

WHAT DID GET DONE THIS WEEK!

This week, I exercised almost every day. On the day of my “call back” I did not exercise. I got up late and I was pooped by day’s end. I therefore missed 2 days this week.

I made a trip north to see the wee ones, which always puts a smile on my face.

I got through a stressful “call back” with the imaging center and was given a clean bill of health.

I went to bed early two nights.

I celebrated with family on their birthday.

I got new glasses, so I can actually see what I’m typing now. 😉

000glasses

I was humbled by God’s prompting for me to apologize to a friend.  Sometimes I say things that come out way different than I mean them.  I did that recently.  Ugh, I hate it when I do that.

Have you ever been there, or am I the only one who does such things?

I reached out to several people to check on them and tell them I was praying for them. In each situation where I did that the folks contacted seemed to feel loved and appreciated because of the interaction. That made me feel good!

That’s all for now. Hopefully you are having a good week and meeting some of your goals in life. If you want to share what those goals might be, comment below. Thanks a million for stopping by and supporting my blog. You guys rock!!!

What distractions got in the way of your best efforts this week? How effective are you are refocusing, once you’re attention has been diverted?

4 thoughts on “

  1. J Bird says:

    I am having a good week, even with some current challenges. God has been blessing for sure.
    Love the change-up in your goals, and your persistence in pursuing them and not giving in to a less than stellar week. We all have them!
    I too am easily distracted by shiny objects. But since a friend introduced me to the teeny tiny goals it has helped me to stay more focused in the middle of those less than stellar days that sometimes turn into weeks.
    I am one who is encouraged by the challenges and victories that others like yourself are willing to share.
    Keep setting and sharing those goals.
    My goals are still ultra teeny tiny but they are working to help me stay focused on what my priorities are for the week.
    1. Continue with oatmeal every morning and work on being more consistent with portion control at my other meals.
    2. Sort and clean out at least one drawer, closet or box. (getting ready to move)
    3. Do my shoulder exercises 3 times a day per my therapists prescription

    Like

    • lorihoose says:

      Thank you for the encouragement, Jean. I love that you are setting goals each week and that they are helping to direct your work throughout each day. They do that for me, too. And they give me a little boost of confidence each time I get one done. It sure is a good feeling to have other join me along the way. Thanks for being willing to do that. I think you’re rocking this thing!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

