Living with a Vet

RobertHooseSr

Living with a veteran of war is an experience not many have a chance to observe up close and personal-like, but I do.

Here is what I’ve seen:

A man with regrets.

A man of sorrow.

A man with grit.

A man unafraid.

A man with dues to pay.

A man of faith.

DSC_0268

My man is a man of laughter.

A man who is truly free.

A man who seeks peace.

A man not afraid to fight.

A man who loves.

BobAaron

He’s a man who picks up hitch-hikers.

A man who will help you, no matter who you are or what you need.

A man I can respect, love, and follow.

Someone who loves a practical joke, but not in a mean way.

DSC_1409

My husband is this man and so much more.  He’s earned the right to be respected by others.  He’s earned the right to his peace.  He’s put his life on the line for many, even as he forfeited his youth, his hearing, the comfort of home and hearth, and his ability to sleep through the night without experiencing horrific nightmares that plague him and try to steal away his serenity while he lays dormant, unable to defend himself.

My Bob is a tough ole bird, but he melts when he holds his grandchildren. He would take a bullet for them in a second, without a thought.  He would seriously harm anyone who harmed them. Anyone!  He says that and he means it!

Family Photo spring 2014

My husband loves his family! In fact, He believes they saved him from an early grave. I believe it too, but I know that with all we have done for him, Jesus has done the better work. He gave Mr hope, purpose, and a way of redemption.  Now, Bob offers that same hope to others.

DSC_0595

Today, for some reason I’m thinking of my honey and missing him more than usual.  Bob Hoose, I love you!!!

What has  your mate done to make the world a better place?  How can you honor him today?

 

10 thoughts on “Living with a Vet

  1. Wendell A. Brown says:

    I live with a vet also who suffers PTSD, and even though I do much each day to always make life better for her, God does so much more spiritually, physically and mentally. He is the creator and is the best cure for all that ails us. He is the beginning and end point for all healing! Love your post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lorihoose says:

      He loves you, too, Jared! Sooo much!

      You’re a good husband and a good dad to those boys. Keep doin’ what you’re doin’ and you’ll never need worry about lovable Bullet Bob! 😉

      Like

  2. J Bird says:

    There are really no words that say how great I think this piece is. Your very heart is totally in this writing. And who could write such a perfect description of our this guy than the one who knows him best.
    In the brief time I have known your him, compared to how long you have known him, I have seen each one of these characteristics in him for sure. And what a blessing he and all your family has been to us and so many others.
    As we pour the love of Christ into others and they grow in God’s grace that love spreads.
    That is the story of your whole family. That is the plan for God’s family. So glad to be part of that family.
    are blessed and others are blessed as you share your blessings in your blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lorihoose says:

      Thank you, Jean! As I was reading your comment, I was struck by this rather eloquent sentence: “As we pour the love of Christ into others and they grow in God’s grace that love spreads.” Amen! It’s all about sharing together that grace that has been given us. I’m so glad to have companions along the Christ road to share Him with–you being one of them. Your faithfulness in reading my blog and posting is amazing! Thank you for being that steadfast encourager of my gift from God. I appreciate You!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

