Beginning June with Three Goals

TGT mast head

This week has been a wild one.  Over the past seven days Mr and me celebrated one birthday, one anniversary, and one prayer session at a friend’s property after his barn rebuild collapsed.  We attended one bridal shower, one feeding-of-the-geese at the lake session (goslings included), and hosted our first church-at-home service, a one-time event that fit the circumstances on Sunday.  It’s a long story, but a blessed one.  All in all, I would say it has been a banner week for us, having family in town and hosting them for an afternoon of water balloons and catching up high on the hill.  We have the best of friends and family, the Mr. and me, and we enjoy every chance we get to commune with them and learn from them.

The mention of learning brings into focus my goals for this week, so I want to list them here.

MY THREE TEENY TINY GOALS THIS PAST WEEK

1  Read 3 chapters of a current healthy-living publications and blog about what Ive learned.

2  Continue IF-ing this week, for at least three days. IF=Intermittent Fasting

3  Focus on bringing the balance back–with food, fun, family, and future plans.

HOW I DID!

I’m going to go backward in my reporting this week, because my successes came with the last two goals I set for myself.  Goal No. 1 was a fail AGAIN this week!  I’m pretty sure that right now my mind and my ambitions are not set on reading about what other people are doing to get healthy.  That being the case, I have decided to quit this goal for now and move on to other habit-forming behaviors that are closer to my heart than this one.

Reminder to Self:  A fail doesn’t mean we quit the whole of the project.  Just that it’s time to prioritize a lil better.

I found my greatest success and focus with Goal No. 3 this week: Balance.  I’m finding I’m highly motivated to work on bringing back the balance to my life right now.  This goal stayed with me all week and I feel like I accomplished a lot for the inner gal while working to make this goal a reality.  We had a lot going on this week, and even still, this goal stayed front and center in my mind.  That’s a good goal, and a workable one, too.  I will be putting this goal back on my list for another week, and working to imbue my life with a greater degree of balance between fun, family, fitness and future plans this week.

Goal No. 2 also went well this week.  I was able to IF 3 times, even though the week was a hectic one with a crazy schedule attached.  I feel good about what I was able to do with Goal No. 2, and will consider including it on my list for another week.

WHAT I LEARNED THIS WEEK FROM MY GOALS

You can still stand, even when life has tried its best to knock you down.  Scott and Lydia, we continue to pray for you as you work on your property to restore what we taken by fire.

I can get pretty grouchy when hosting an event at my house.  Am I alone in this?  Stressful!

Bringing back the balance to my life means I have to look more closely at three areas:  Diet, Exercise, and Relationships.

Splenda makes my kidneys restless and stressed.  Seriously, I am looking HARD at this substance when considering balance in my diet going forward.  I must have gone to the ladies room every hour the last two days, and I wondered why??  No big influx of sugar in my diet, so why was I peeing so much?  Then I remembered that I had the coffee shop put a lil cream and Splenda in my coffee on Tuesday and Wednesday morning this week (something I don’t usually do, but wanted to do the last two days, to treat myself).  Yikes, I was running to the bathroom all day.  What’s up with that?  Back to black I went this morning and I am seeing a world of difference today in bathroom frequency!

THREE TEENY TINY GOALS FOR NEXT WEEK

This post is getting pretty long, so I think I best put a period on my reporting and get to setting my goals for another week now.   This week, I will endeavor to…

1  Practice my IF-ing plan 2-3 days of the week.

2  Bring back the balance in life by intentionally planning better with regards to fun, food, family, and future planning. We go to get our passports tomorrow. Yippeee!

3  Make sure I exercise by walking at least 3 times.

I have noticed that the time I have put into planning to walk and walking has been smaller and smaller lately. That needs to change!  I will be spending more time walking this week, as well as trying to exercise in other ways.

What teeny tiny thing have you learned about yourself this week by intentionally observing your routine?  Does Splenda make you visit the bathroom more frequently?  

 

Leave a Reply

