Goals & meditation

I HAD THREE GOALS FOR THIS WEEK. THEY WERE…

1  Fasting at least twice this week and eating only veggies for lunch at least twice.

2  Get passport applications in the mail.

3  Ride the bike or walk three times this week.

000bike llHOW’D I DO?

Goal No. 1 GOOD! I met my goal for fasting this week, choosing to by-pass breakfast three times.  I ate only veggies for lunch one day, but the good news is that I ate a grilled chicken salad while others munched on pizza one day. That’s pretty good, right?

Goal No. 2 OKAY.  I found that I don’t need my marriage license to get my passport, but I do need my birth certificate. Mr and me have these certificates, but darn if we can find them.  No passports yet, so this one goes back on my list for another week.  I will get this done!!!  I’m determined!

Goal No. 3 YES!  I rode my bike this week, but I did not walk outside the house. I need to step it up a lil with this goal.  I had three late nights this week, followed by three early bed times.  I seriously came in the house, dropped my bags, and went to bed three times.  I was pooped.  Mr probably wonders if he did something wrong. Nope, I was just trying to get my ZZZs to keep up with daily demands.

THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS FOR NEXT WEEK

Because my goals are good goals at this point, and because I still haven’t gotten our passports, I have decided to go with a do-over for this week.  All the goals I had last week, I will again work on this week.  Yay!

WHAT I’VE BEEN THINKING ABOUT LATELY–MEDITATION AND HOW IT HELPS

I had a session with fretting this week.  A 4am session. I know, I know. What IS THAT ABOUT????!  The next morning, when I finally pulled myself out of bed I knew I needed to spend some time in prayer and meditation.  I did.  Out of that came this:

“No man is born either naturally or supernaturally with character, he has to make character.  Nor are we born with habits; we have to form habits…” 

“Drudgery is the touchstone of character. The great hindrance in spiritual life is that we will look for big things to do.  Jesus took a towel…”

Finally, “We say we do not expect God to carry us to heaven on flowery beds of ease, and yet we act as if we did!”  — Oswald Chambers

What a wake-up call!  This devotional was both appropriate and relevant to this teeny tiny goal setting crusade I’m on!  Reading these snippets of the whole passage by Chambers helped me to balance out my angst and let go of some of that over-the-top expectation I have for myself.  The reading helped me to see that its okay that I’m not perfect, that my sharing isn’t always polished, and that I don’t have to impress with every interaction I enter into.  I know these things, but I also sometimes need to be reminded.  The morning after my 4am wake-up I was.  It was a new day.

Hallelujah, what a Savior.  Jesus is there when I need him, to rescue me from myself.  He’s good, all the time!!!

When has drudgery (or doing the same thing over and over again), been the touchstone of your character?  Were you born to your habits, or did you have to form them out of your experience, education, and optimism?

 

2 thoughts on “Goals & meditation

  1. J Bird says:

    Looks like you are totally back on track with those goals and I so believe having the same goals for more than a week is the way to go. I don’t know about you but just a week of meeting my goals does not a habit for me. I am going to be keeping the same goals for a month. And I will post my progress or lack of and any adjustments I find need to be made over time until I have a doable action plan to meet the goals more consistently. And this has come out of reading your Thursday updates. While away my goals were almost non-existent. But I thought about them all the way home and decided not to wait until Thursday to begin AGAIN! So I started on Monday when I got back by setting my 3 goals. 1. Back to my oatmeal every day and portion control at all my meals 2. Walk every day, starting with 5 min 3X a day (really teeny tiny since I walk to and from work twice a cay and walk the dog at least once.) 3. Set alarm to be up by 5:45 am to have quiet time with my Father Mon-Fri

    Well it was only 3 days but I did accomplish all 3 goals 100% They were really teeny tiny but it made me feel good to have some consistency in my life again. I am going to keep these goals, making adjustments as I go by possibly increasing walking time for example. You continue to inspire me to keep trying. Hopefully I will get back on track posting on Thursdays too. I just don’t have time to do it until after work.

    You should have called, I was awake at 4 am as well last night as well. I am doing better but still struggling with the idea of being at this desk for the next year. I know you understand! I’ve come to believe it is God’s way of dealing with pride in my life and I am trying to see the lessons and gain insight in and through the experience. Your “What I’ve Been Thinking About” post you added really got my attention, especially – “Drudgery is the touchstone of character. The great hindrance in spiritual life is that we will look for big things to do. Jesus took a towel…” It is not that I think the work I am doing is beneath me, or do I? it’s just that I feel like I could do much more, but God has another plan. Praying I to will be rescued from myself! Once again your timing is in God’s timing my friend! JB

    Like

    • lorihoose says:

      Woohoo, I love that you hit the target with all your goals this week. You’ve inspired me and others!!!

      I love your insights into how you are dealing with the drudgery of life. It happens to us all, doesn’t it. I loved, too, Chambers concept that drudgery is God saving us between our inspirations. Great concept!!! The meditation hit me from every angle. I need to be saved between my inspirations. Heaven knows I could no way keep up to the energy level required to be inspired every day. Only God can do that, and maybe some encouragement gurus specially gifted to that type of service, but I’m not one of them.

      Thank you for continuing to support my writing efforts, Jean, and for always being a voice of grace and authenticity in the comments section. You bless me with those comments!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

