Decisions and Goals

000fog trees

I made a decision this week that helped clear away the fog!

I decided to step away from my position as facilitator of spiritual discussions at my church.  The decision was a long time coming, and it was difficult for me to make, but as I shared with others in my circle when I notified them about the change, “Where God is silent, I dare not speak.”

Last night, I was reading from 1 Samuel.  When the Scripture’s talked about young Samuel hearing God for the first time, and Eli’s not hearing Him, I thought, “Yep, there it is. Confirmation!”

Still, I have a bulldog mentality some times.

I hate quitting!  I hate giving up!  I hate walking away!  Still, I have to realize that there is a time for all things under the sun. Sometimes it is now time to pack it up and move on.  I did that this week, and I’m proud of myself for finally taking a step into the unknown.  Note: I am not leaving my church, only my teaching position.

I don’t know where God will send me next. I don’t know what my next mission field will look like.  I’ve thought about a few things, and I’ve talked to a few individuals about what’s next, but as of right now I don’t know.

This I do know: There is no one I would rather go on a mystery tour with than Jesus!!!

God’s silence in my study times is just one reason for me making a decision to step away from teaching for a while.  Another is my health. Two words: Sciatica pain.  Some days it is unbearable.  I’m also working on de-cluttering my life, so that I no longer have to tell others my super power is indecision. That sucks!

My goals this week reflect where I’m at right now in life.  This post has turned epic, so I’m gonna quit sharing other “stuff” and relay to you this week’s goals. Thanks for reading this far!

THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS

This week I’m going to try something different.  One list with three goals that should be easy to achieve and yet leave me wiggle room to develop a new Action Plan for life.

1  Pursue a path of recovery with the new chiropractor, doing all he asks me to do in order to help myself in the most effective and efficient way.

2  Continue to learn new methods for paring down, in order to minimize my propensity for indecision.

3  Eat as cleanly as I can, incorporating as many veggies as I can and as much water as I can into my Action Plan for the week.

I’ll letcha know how it goes.

What new discovery have you recently made about yourself?  How are your goals today addressing your needs for the future?

5 thoughts on “Decisions and Goals

  1. Lesa Rose says:

    I do get the sciatica pain. How often do you visit a Chiropractor? I see one weekly. They have really helped. it must have been so hard to step down from your position, but listening to God is worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lorihoose says:

      I have been dealing with the sciatica pain for probably two years, on my own. I went to a chiro once, but he hurt me, so I quit him and went to PT instead. It wasn’t his fault, really. There were things wrong that neither of us knew about, so I don’t blame him. I would sure like to get back to the place where I could exercise daily without this much pain. I’m encouraged to hear that you are being helped through chiropractic means. I hope it works for me.

      I was nervous to quit the teaching, I will admit. I used to LOVE, LOVE using this gift for God, but lately, it has been hard. I’m the sort that has to be hit over the head, HARD, in order to motivate me to change. I feel good about the decision now, though. I think it will be a good change for me, and maybe not forever!

      Thanks for stopping by. Chime in any time, Lesa!

      Like

  2. N. Bird says:

    Great new goals that are going to go a long way as you begin this new journey with God.
    Expect great blessings along the way my friend. Hold on it may take you places you never thought you would or could go.
    I’m living proof of that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

