Super Powers-Part 1

000hero

What you’re about to read is part ONE of a TWO-part blog post.  I try to avoid long posts, so I’m breaking this one up into two parts.  Part TWO will publish tomorrow, when I hope you’ll all come on back for the second half!

 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.  But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  Matthew 6: 19-21

I feel like my super power is indecision! 

I’ve made that statement a lot the past year.  I made it a few times the year before. I’m not sure when the phrase first popped into my head, but once it did, I ran with it.  It was a humorous way to describe the not-so-humorous habit I have for not being able to make up my mind.

I hate not being able to make up my mind!!!

THE SUGGESTION THAT STARTED IT ALL

A short while back my niece had a backyard BBQ.  It was an awesome party that I thoroughly enjoyed.  While I was there, in response to a conversation started about super powers, I said to someone at the party, “No kidding? My super power is indecision. I just haven’t figured out yet how I’m going to use it to help anyone or save the world.” Yes, we are that family, and yes, we do realize these kind of conversations are geeky.

After I shared about my propensity to be indecisive, we all laughed. The conversation continued, and someone said, “Have you ever thought that maybe you can’t decide, because you have so many choices?”

Bazinga!

The light came on!

The sun dawned!

That hammer that hits people when they have an epiphany, yeah, it hit me!

There was the crux of my problem!!!!

That suggestion…that innocent thing said…it got me thinking. What if the problem with me really was that I had too much?  What if having less would solve it?  What if going through my home and office and getting rid of anything that I don’t need could really and finally solve this problem I had with indecision? What if I could decide something, anything, without hedging?  How might that change my life?

There and then an idea was born. There and then I decided to embark upon my culling experiment.  There and then I decided that I could live with less. And maybe I could like it more. Maybe I could get some relief from the constant nagging sense that at my age I should be able to make up my mind.

Maybe…

Please join me tomorrow for part two of my indecision dilemma re-do.

When, if ever, have you suffered with indecision?  What, if anything, causes you to become confused when trying to make a decision (money needed, time needed, possible other options)?

One thought on “Super Powers-Part 1

Leave a comment