Goals and Progress

TGT mast headTHREE TEENY, TINY GOALS FOR LAST WEEK

1  Pursue a path of recovery with the new chiropractor, doing all he asks me to do in order to help myself in the most effective and efficient way.

2  Continue to learn new methods for paring down, in order to minimize my propensity for indecision.

3  Eat as cleanly as I can, incorporating as many veggies as I can and as much water as I can into my Action Plan for the week.

HOW I DID!

On Goals 1 and 2 this week, I did well.

Goal No. 1:  I found a new chiropractor and have begun treatments.  I’ll be seen 3 times per week for 24 sessions total before I move out of this phase of treatment and into maintenance.  I’m happy I have begun this process and I have seen immediate results, which is kind of cool and an indicator that I’m moving in the right direction.  The past two nights in bed have been blissful, with no numbing sensations in leg or back, and sleep that is unfamiliar to me.  Wholly unfamiliar, since it is deep and relaxing, and renewing in scope. Yay!!!

Goal No. 2:  I’m continuing to follow a plan I’ve put in place to live a more simple life. So far I have de-cluttered my kitchen cabinets (all the upper ones, and one lower one), the master bath, the guest bath, the guest closet, the master closet, and two clothes dressers.  I have also given up on one social obligation that was causing me stress, and I have made a wish list of potential changes to the house that are yet to come.  No complaints by Mr–in fact, he is rather loving working with me to get rid of some of his ratty clothes and not-needed coffee mugs. I seriously expected more blow back or resistance when I suggested to him we go through his dresser and throw away shirts he loves but that are really too worn out to wear in public anymore.  How many grunge work outfits does one guy need, right?  He was happy, if not giddy, to rid himself of old clothes.  Who knew?!

GOAL NO. 3

I have been drinking more water than usual this week, so that’s partial success in the goal category, and I have tried to get more veggies in me, but not as seriously as I should.  I did make one huge decision this week, to not keep a sugary treat in the house anymore.  I’m going at the de-cluttering of my food choices slowly, since I know if there is any place the boat might be capsized, it is with the food.  We have a passionate love/hate relationship that is complicated, but I think I’m winning with my efforts to simplify my food.  Just today I thought while in the grocery store, “What might it look like for you to clean out your food pantry completely and put back in there only the things that you truly need to feed your body, a very simple list of ingredients that you could use over and over again to simplify your eating and nutritional needs?”

Okay, so I didn’t talk to myself exactly that way.  It went more like this: “Hey, having a list of foods in the pantry would be cool.  If I only bought that stuff and nothing else, how easy would it be for me to stay on track?”  I was also thinking how easy cooking would be if it were more routine, repeating regularly the recipes we love, and forgetting about the more complicated stuff.

OTHER STUFF I DID THIS WEEK

I began a Goals/Gratitude Journal, recording what I’m thankful for each day.

I moved more, mostly because my pain levels were way down.

I picked blueberries with a friend, the last of the season.

THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS FOR NEXT WEEK

I’m going to keep the goals the same for another week…

1  Pursue a path of recovery with the new chiropractor, doing all he asks me to do in order to help myself in the most effective and efficient way.

2  Continue to learn new methods for paring down, in order to minimize my propensity for indecision.

3  Eat as cleanly as I can, incorporating as many veggies as I can and as much water as I can into my Action Plan for the week.

Are you into Action Plans?  If not, how do you stay on track? What system do you use?

Leave a Reply

