Sowing Simply-Sept 13

This week’s Sowing Simply project addressed the paper clutter in our home, but first, our guidance from God, to get us started.

Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.  Matthew 6:19

COMING CLEAN

Below, is evidence of a bag full of paperwork that has sat on my bedroom floor for months, maybe more than a year!

dsc_0440

This bag is from TJ Maxx and it’s HUGE!  Here’s a close up.

dsc_0441

Everything in this bag is paper, except for that address book in blue at the top.  Seriously, this is 20 lbs of paper that has to be sorted piece by piece to determine which is to be kept and which is not, but wait.   There’s more…

dsc_0444

We’ve got some serious overflow going on here, and there’s even more…

dsc_0442

This doesn’t include paperwork stored up top, in the attic.  All this stuff is taking up space in our home and my heart. Why?

Once I’d collected up all the clutter, this is what I had…

dsc_0448

From another angle.

dsc_0445

Be thankful I didn’t show you the drawer where we keep our phone directories.  You’d have nightmares.

This table is approximately 6 ft long.  Piece by piece this mountain had to be sorted and sifted to determine what was valuable and what was not.  Could I do it?  I was ready.  I was determined. I was going to get ‘er done–or die trying.

I did it!!!

Here is what was left after it was all said and done.  This, and one little drawer (see on right of photo), where I put cards and notes sent by family and friends over the years to encourage us.  I particularly love the notes I received from our DIL before she our first-born were wedded.  What a treasure–I’ve kept them all!

dsc_0452

The best part of finishing up this project is that I now know where to find what I’m looking for, when I’m looking for it.  Yay!

A side benefit of this experiment in simple living is that we are all being more proactive.  I can definitely see a change in mister, as he addresses “stuff and messes” quicker and with more confidence.

WHAT WAS FOUND WHILE DE-CLUTTERING THIS WEEK

–The $50 gift certificate Mister received from BIL and SIL two (?) Christmas’ ago. Thought that sucker was lost forever.

–$25 in cash that a friend had given me and I had set aside, intending to come back to it later.  It came back to me!  Yay and Bazinga!

–Mister’s Blake Shelton CD, that he thought was long gone.

–(1) tape from a No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency audio book set I received as a gift. I didn’t even know it was missing.

–Important retirement paperwork.

–Tax documents and receipts.

–A recipe for no-knead artisan bread I am so going to try!

FEELINGS!

It felt INCREDIBLE to see this job done. I literally feel 18 lbs lighter!   I have walked around that bag, or kicked it out-of-the-way, or grumbled about it being there, untouched, for months. No more!

IN PURSUIT OF A SIMPLER LIFE

This week my efforts to live more simply resulted in this:

–I attended my first Sunday School session in forever wherein I did not need to prepare ahead of time.

–I spent a leisurely day Saturday with my Love, doing what he loves–meeting people and chatting them up at Patriots in the Park.

–I bought (2) 96 cents caddies that I am using to store bathroom and kitchen items under the sink.  I also bought one under-the-bed storage bin that I used to store the paperwork I sorted through.  I want to work toward the goal of sweeping and dusting through the entire house in 30 minutes or less.  In order for it to become a reality, I need to rid my counter tops and sink vanities of “stuff”.  Everything looks cleaner, sleeker, and fresher now.  I feel I needed those storage bins, even though I know I keep saying I NEED nothing.

–I saved money by not buying a planter and frying pan I had been tempted to buy. More on that later.

–I culled another dozen or so books from their hidey-holes in our home. More cookbooks. I wish I had back all the money I spent on these over the years, especially those I never used.

dsc_0453

TEMPTATIONS

I went looking for a frying pan with a flat bottom and high sides this weekend. Those I found were reasonably priced and of good quality. They would have lasted forever, but did I NEED one of them at home?  I didn’t. As I have said before, I NEED nothing!  I left them at the store.

I was also searching for a square planter this weekend. Had I found one that fit the parameters of my search I’m pretty sure I would have bought it. I did not.  Temptation averted.  Money saved!

I still haven’t gotten a feel for how I want these Sowing Simply posts to go.  My formula doesn’t seem right to me. I feel like I’m herkey-jerkey and all over the place with my explanations of what I’m doing.  I’ll try to reflect on that this week. If you have any suggestions, leave them in the comments below.  In the meantime thanks for reading, and remember to stay out of the stores!

What are you doing to make your life simpler?  Do you buy cookbooks you never, even use?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Sowing Simply-Sept 13

  1. N. Bird says:

    Lori,
    I wouldn’t have you change a thing!
    Every time I read this blog I am motivated to do some cleaning out of my own and get something done I’ve been talking about doing for awhile.
    I especially love the before and after photos. Seeing a job done always motivates me! And we all have one of those drawers, bags, or boxes of papers in our house.
    I am tagging along on this journey with you.
    Keep up the good work my friend!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lorihoose says:

      Thanks, Jean! You’re always such an encourager, and I need it, tackling this house. Next up: painting. I have two rooms that never were painted when we moved into the house. None of my closets were painted. And I have a bed that is old, metal, and ugly brown. That baby is getting a new glossy white coat. Can’t wait to see the difference that will make in a rather dark and disheveled guest room.

      You really think the formatting on the SS posts looks okay? Is easily readable? That’s what I’m aiming for, but it feels unorganized to me right now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

