Baffled!

000temptation

Temptation is something that completely baffles me for a while, [so that] I do not know if the thing is right or wrong.  -Oswald Chambers

I have to agree with Oswald Chamber about temptation.  It baffles me.

I wonder sometimes why I’m still tempted to do anything that is willful and bound up in my desires, and contrary to God’s explicit will for my life?

Why do I want to do it?

What’s the pay-off for me?

What good do I think will come of it?

Why would I risk offending God, or worse yet angering Him, for the chance to experience a momentary pleasure that in all likelihood I won’t enjoy and will immediately regret once I have gone ahead and taken that bite of apple?

In addition to finding the whole idea of temptation baffling, I wonder at how little temptation it takes to produce horrifically significant sin.

A wink turns into an affair.

A spoonful of something turns into a binge.

A moment of unattended anger and someone is in the hospital.

It’s shocking how quickly we can be tempted to turn our backs on God.

How does that happen?

How are faithful, conscientious, loving beings convinced to turn tailcoat so quickly?

It baffles me!

Sin is an invasive weed, and it’s seed pod is temptation.

Thank God, we have a Savior! Thank God, He’s redeemed our souls.

Thank You, God, that we have a Champion to call upon in Jesus!

Are there consequences when we give into temptation and do wrong? You bet!  But there is also forgiveness…grace-filled, beautiful, complete and everlasting forgiveness in Christ.  Do you know it today? If not, let’s talk.

Here’s the thing:  Temptation isn’t taking a holiday any time soon, so we must learn how to deal with it.  We must learn how to surrender to God’s provision and His grace.  Our future joy depends on us mastering this skill.  Let’s practice it together.

Hallelujah, Jesus is ours!  Hallelujah, What a Savior!!!

Do you wonder about temptation’s allure for Christians?  Is it more intense or about the same for non-believers? How are you handling the temptations that come at you?

 

2 thoughts on “Baffled!

Leave a Reply

