Taking Refuge, Feeling Glad

dsc_0479

This desk calendar was gifted to me by a friend, Meredith, mom to my daughter-in-law and extended Hoose family from my perspective.  I’m not sure how many years it’s been since I first started flipping the pages on this daily reminder, but I’m betting five or more.  I’ve kept this calendar when others have gone by the wayside, because it offers the best encouragement of any calendar I’ve had, it’s the NIV translation of the Bible, and it’s only dated and not stamped with a day of the week.  Thank you, Meredith!  This one is a keeper.

Today’s message was perfect for me! Maybe for you, too?

Who wouldn’t want to take refuge in God, and be glad?

Who wouldn’t want to sing for joy when He is a part of the equation?

Who wouldn’t want to rejoice at the prospect of God spreading his protection over them, so that their lives could be made safe and life could be enjoyed unhindered?

Who, indeed?

I feel blessed to be living in the time I’m living, and to have my faculties with me as I encounter God through this  Healing Journey. What a blessing to have my eyes opened to new levels of His favor, His love, and His protection over me and those I care about.

Things are happening in my life right now, exciting things, and I couldn’t be more pleased.  I’ve taken some action, asked for some help, and am beginning to realize a new-found freedom and grace growing up around me.  This experience has made me more open to God than I have been in a long time.  This past Sunday I actually connected with the praise choruses that were being sung in church, instead of being annoyed or distracted by this or that while trying to find that sweet spot that tells me God is there in the lyrics.

Does anyone but me struggle with that, or is it only me?

I don’t think anything around me has changed. I think I’ve changed!  I guess that’s the whole point of a healing journey, hunh?  Self-Change, orchestrated by our big, big, and beautiful God!  I’m so thankful!

What are you thankful for today?  What little thing reminds you of the immensity of our God and his big, big heart?

2 thoughts on “Taking Refuge, Feeling Glad

  1. N. Bird says:

    Lori I just read this post, it’s been a very busy week and haven’t had much personal time on the computer. Your words here ring true in my heart especially these: “Things are happening in my life right now, exciting things, and I couldn’t be more pleased. I’ve taken some action, asked for some help, and am beginning to realize a new-found freedom and grace growing up around me. This experience has made me more open to God than I have been in a long time.” This “Mission To Macon” has been an exciting journey as well, and I believe a part of my own healing journey so to speak. And yes, I am often annoyed and distracted during the music portion of our service, especially if it is repetitive choruses. Blessings JB

    Liked by 1 person

    • lorihoose says:

      Thank you for making me feel less odd or out of step with the world, Jean. You’re so good at that.

      If I had my own way, we’d only sing hymns and Keith Green songs at church, but I know that’s pretty narrow-minded of me and I will confess that when I’m in the right place in my heart and mind the music flows and I’m inspired. I’m just not there often enough.

      I can’t wait to hear what has been going on in your life up-close and personal like. November can’t come soon enough for this girl! Praying for you as you step into the fall in GA. They are lucky to have you serving there!

      Like

Leave a Reply

