TGT mast head

LAST WEEK’S THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS

1  Stay on track with daily exercise and oatmeal.

2  Mindfully eat and write.

3  Create a list of things that fuel joy in my life and share that list.

HOW I DID!

I did pretty well with Goal No. 1 and 2:  I ate oatmeal for breakfast half the week, the other half I ate other things.  I did all my exercises, all week.  I was mindful about my food and even switched up things with my POE (plan of eating).  I did not write much about the changes I had made, though, so that goal was not completed in a stellar manner. I’ve decided to restrict some foods going forward, and to minimize the amount I digest of those I don’t restrict.  So far, so good on that part of the plan!

Goals No. 3: Rocked it!  I worked on my joy list all week and posted as I went.  I did not post it here. If you’re interested is seeing it, let me know and I’ll do something to get it to you.  I’m not convinced everyone has the same degree of trouble finding joy as I do, so I don’t want to take up time posting twice if there is no interest.  I will say that I was surprised by the amount of items I added to the list throughout the week.  Maybe I’m more adept at finding joy than I think.

I’d love to hear about what makes you joyful. Include your thoughts in the comment section below.

THREE TEENY, TINY GOALS REGARDING “SELF”

This week in The Healing Journey sessions we focused on replacing self-power, self-protection, and self-provision with a deeper trust in God to provide, protect, and power our lives.  My goal list for this week is a reflection of the musings I have had surrounding those sessions and some work I want to do to set myself aside a little more in the future, in favor of trusting God.

1  Create a list of PROS and CONS associated with self-protecting behaviors. When did they work for me, and why did they not?

2  Meditate on the benefits/detriments of powering through life on my own, and as time and inclination allow, address how self-powering attitudes might be a set-up for isolation on my part and confusion for others.

3  Look at ways I’ve pushed back on the tendency to provide for myself apart from the help of my Spiritual Mentor, God.  When have I decided to “get it on my own,” instead of waiting for it to be provided?

OBSERVATIONS

It’s hard for the hard-working to not work hard!

It’s good for me to think about new and maybe better ways of interacting with Papa God and my fellows.

I have more triggers for joy than I thought.

Pete the Cat is sooo cool!  Reading to my grands, even cooler!!!

Politics can be a sticky wicket.

I believe more men than will admit entertain sinful thoughts on occasion.  Some are in bondage to them.

I think women struggle with smutty fantasizing, too. Otherwise, I’m not sure how 50 Shades of Gray became a best seller.

I think we are all blessed to have Jesus standing in for us at the Judgment Seat!!!

What goals will you work to achieve this week?  If breaking big projects down into smaller steps is the way to achieving our goals, how come we don’t walk that way more often?

 

One thought on “

  1. N. Bird says:

    As usual your writing struck a chord with me!
    Will be borrowing that second goal ” Meditate on the benefits/detriments of powering through life on my own, and as time and inclination allow, address how self-powering attitudes might be a set-up for isolation on my part and confusion for others.” as I am working through a re-set to get back on track with my own goals.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

