000be-kind

DISEASE STRIKES

Recently, my husband developed a case of Shingles that is proving to be a challenge. In addition to tremendous sensitivity and pain associated with this disease, my mister has been infected in his eye.  This is serious, since swelling in the eye leads to inflammation, and inflammation leads to scaring, and my husband love, love, loves his Harley, and wouldn’t it be awful if his sight was damaged by this disease and he wasn’t able to ride again?

This is where the mind goes when those you love are in pain–to projection!

FORGIVENESS

I’ve had my share of rude things done and said to me in my day, but this past week has revealed a new level of selfishness on the part of others that I am finding it hard to believe.  While I was away and my husband was trying to sleep on Monday, someone called our home and chewed him out for attending church when he had a contagion and was able to infect others with it.

First, he did not know that he was under attack by microbs when my husband attended church last week.

Second, I would hope by now that people would know us well enough to realize that we don’t do harm to others when it can in any way be avoided.

Third, who does that? Who calls someone who is sick to say I’m angry with you because you’re sick and that puts me at risk?

Fourth, it is hard to appreciate fear that operates in this manner.

Fifth, the choice that hubs and I now have is to hold onto bitterness and resentment toward the offending party, or forgive and let it go.  We are working on the later and understand that the former is nothing God would want for us, but still, it’s hard.

I read this blog post today and found a fresh path through the anger to forgiveness.

MEMES

You’ve all seen the meme that says: Everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about, so be kind. Always!

I don’t know what fear this individual who called my husband is struggling with, but I do appreciate fighting against panic that is overwhelming and numbing, and even senseless. I know how it feels to be in that fight alone, too, because we rarely share our inner demons with others. I know what it is to lose sleep and not be able to function because of anxiety and even panic attacks.  I know!

It is my prayer today that the individual who called my house and worried my husband this week will find himself or herself the object of God’s greatest peace today, and that when their time comes to suffer they will find others reaching out to them in love, and not accusations.

Everyone we meet is fighting a battle we know nothing about, so be kind. Always!

I will remember and I will pray–for us, for those who hurt us, and for God to help us all forgive when we are offended.  Instead of indulging the fear, we need to learn to reach out in sympathy and with comfort when our sisters and brothers in Christ are stricken.  In Jesus’ Name we can move mountains–we just need to let go of our pride, fear, and selfishness in order to make it happen.

…be kind to each other, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, just as God through Christ has forgiven you.    Ephesians 4:32

Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.  Luke 6:38

Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples. John 13:35

Have you ever had shingles?  What was the worst part of your experience with them?

2 thoughts on “

  1. N. Bird says:

    Well said dear friend and I know that your desire to honor God is sincere and know that He will provide you with the healing from the hurt you have both felt (and for the shingles). And you will have His peace in and through the process. He will also provide you with the ability to completely forgive.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

