Christian Game Theory

But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day. The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.  2 Peter 3:8-9

If you want to win the victory over sin and temptation you have to play the long game of God.

Let me say that again: If you want to WIN the VICTORY over sin and temptation you have to play the LONG GAME with God!

God’s long game theory involves patience and promise keeping, and advantage giving, and endurance unto salvation.  All things I’m not really good at-but I’m willing to learn. How will I learn?  You guessed it, through trial and error, temptation and testing, falling and getting up again, and leaning in to God so close that I can feel his breath on the side of my neck as he speaks eternal truth into my waiting ear.

What does He say?

Just this:  that His thoughts are not my thoughts, and my ways are not his ways, and his days are not running according to my watch.  His promises are not dependent on my faithfulness, and his desire is for all to come to the knowledge of salvation. He wants the gospel to be carried to all the earth, and for me to understand that sometimes winning over sinful souls takes time, and that I should never lose hope in that work, because I can know that He never does, and that His efforts go on and on, and on throughout generations. In the end, all will bow the knee to Jesus, and all will acknowledge the truth that some so long held back from owning within themselves, that God is good, that He is the source of our salvation, and that He has always been worthy of our praise.

Today, let’s praise God that his thoughts are not our thoughts, and our ways are not his ways, because folks, His ways always succeed! Ours, not so much.  Let’s also thank God that he shares his thoughts with us through His Word. Even on those days when we don’t fully understand what’s going on, we can be sure that God’s Word is faithful, honest, and true.

Hallelujah, what a Savior!!!

 

Leave a Reply

