Monday Devotional Moment

000ship.jpg

 I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving.  To reach the port of heaven, we must sail sometimes with the wind and sometimes against it—but we must sail, and not drift, nor lie at anchor.  –Oliver Wendell Holmes

Commit your work to the Lord, and your plans will be established. Proverbs 16:3

I have to say that I most esteem those individuals who are constantly, consciously, and deliberately moving toward God.  I’m drawn to these forward-acting types, especially as the roads they trek are anything but smooth, even, or rock-free.  I track their progress as they maneuver through peaks and valleys along the way, and I gain inspiration from watching them cut their way through the briers and the bramble.  Some have it easy in this life, or so it seems, but not them.

Those I admire have a steeper climb to make, and because of that I imagine they are made of sterner stuff than I.  To me, they seem rugged, determined, and most likely to make it to the place God has called them, even if they arrive bloody, bruised, and spent.  What amazes me is that they never stop.

They never quit.

They never accept defeat. Ever!

Those adventuring with God must never lie at anchor!

Some questions for reflection today:   

Can we confidently say we’re pressing on with the Holy Spirit, taking risks and making new discoveries with God daily?

Are we doing the best we can do, or have we chosen to simply “get by” in life?

Are we feeling good about us (God and us)?

Is there peace resting in our souls, or are we still finding it hard to be content with what we have?

Did we wake up this morning asking Papa God, “Where now?”  If not, why not?

This week, let’s pray for a heart of discovery and one of courage.  God has great things for His Church to accomplish in this age.  Let’s be quick to do our part.

Together with God, we can do what we could never do alone! 

2 thoughts on “Monday Devotional Moment

  1. N. Bird says:

    It amazes and blesses me how often your posts reflect what has been on my heart and the questions you ask are just the right questions that I need to present to the Father.
    Questions like, “How are we doing, you and I ?” or the one you mentioned “Where now?”
    I’m asking and He is answering! Such and amazing God He is!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

