What is your story saying about you?

God came to us because God wanted to join us on the road, to listen to our story, and to help us realize that we are not walking in circles but moving toward the house of peace and joy.  –Thomas Merton

Let the heavens rejoice and the earth be happy! Let the sea and everything in it shout for joy!  Psalm 96:11

Sometimes I wonder if we appreciate how hard it is for God to hear our stories?

I know there have been times in my life when my story has been full of grumbling and complaining, and consequently reflected poorly on God.  I’m sure people have listened to me in those seasons of discontent and wondered: Is she a Christian?

She has no joy.

She has no sparkle.

She has no contentment whatsoever, it seems.

They were right.  In those moments when I endlessly complained about my lot in life, I am sure I did no credit to the cause of Christ.  Oh, that I could grab those words out of eternity, reel them back in and lock them in a dark cave, never to be seen again. I regret the times I’ve allowed the world to think God failed me.  He never did!

Our stories tell others all about us: what we think, what we believe, and what is mere bravado.

I’m relieved to know that I serve a God of infinite mercy.  A God who listens while I complain and loves me anyway.  A king who has the power to turn me into dust for the wrong I do, but doesn’t.  A Savior who never tires of propping me up, helping me out, and straightening the path before me.

Jesus Christ and God the Father deserve all my respect, my gratitude, and my love, but sometimes what they get from me is loose change. Left overs.  Dissatisfaction, and doubt.

Shame on me.  I feel I should be farther along by now.

The Good News:  Jesus came for folks like me.  Jesus came for the grumblers, the malcontents, the murderers, and the miscreants.  He came for the downcast, the disadvantaged, the disillusioned and the dismayed.  He came to rescue the perishing, and I was certainly one of those.

Praise God that we serve endless Mercy and Grace today.  God never gave up on me, and He never will—you either.  In Jesus, we have the best of the best, of the BEST—a kind and loving, powerful and merciful Messiah!  How can we not love Him?!

Hallelujah, Jesus Saves!  Hallelujah, we are His!!

2 thoughts on “What is your story saying about you?

  1. N. Bird says:

    So thankful for the grace God gives us in those moments that you have described, for I have had many. But always, yes always, He gives us (me) more grace!!!
    And therefore I am challenged to stop and remember and give more grace to those around me!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lorihoose says:

      I love how concerned you are with giving grace to others. This world is a hard, hard place some days and a lil bit o grace goes a long way. Keeping shining in the world, Friend. We need more folks like you and yes, more grace!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

