The Struggle to Find Joy

Though the fig tree does not bud
    and there are no grapes on the vines,
though the olive crop fails
    and the fields produce no food,
though there are no sheep in the pen
    and no cattle in the stalls,
yet I will rejoice in the Lord,
    I will be joyful in God my Savior.  Habakkuk 3:17-18

This week I’ve been writing about joy and trusting the Lord, and being willing to let go of our ways of acting and reacting to life.  Getting there is simple, but it’s not easy.

It’s simple to find joy, because God is available all the time to each of us and only a prayer away.  It’s difficult, because sometimes in our lives trees don’t bud, and crops fail, and barns burn, and cattle die, and we get injured, and we begin to lose hope and then it’s a slipper slope to despair.

This girl finds it not so easy to wait patiently on God. It’s not easy to push back on self-will either.

It’s not easy to live a life of surrender when free will is right there, at my fingertips…so readily available.

Self-will is natural, while God is divine. 

It’s no wonder I  have so much trouble letting go and letting God have full reign over the days of my life.  I’m often trying to work it all out through my puny human will alone. It never works!

Today, let’s take the simple route to God and His joy, saved in reserve for us.

Let’s stop struggling, stop stressing, stop stumbling around in our self-created darkness, and just rest.

Let’s allow God to speak to us in our meditations, and let’s do all we can to detach from expectations during those moments.

God knows what we need, and if we trust His ways we’ll find our way to joyful living. 

God has a plan, and it’s a great one, so today let’s begin there—in His capable, loving, and joyful hands!

Do you have a hard time finding your way to joy?  If so, what one thing could you do to get closer to that goal today?

 

One thought on “The Struggle to Find Joy

  1. N. Bird says:

    I am learning my joy does not come from my circumstance but in spite of them. It comes from knowing that no matter what the circumstances I can still have the joy of knowing Christ and being able to fellowship with him no matter what is going on around me.
    But I do need these reminders that help me remember that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

