Because he loves me…

“Because he loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.  he will call on me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will delivery him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him and show him my salvation.  Psalm 91:14-16

God thirst to be thirsted after. –Saint Augustine

Psalm 91 opens with these words: Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most Hight will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.  Hallelujah!  I wanted to write on that premise today, but once I read through the remainder of the Psalm in my own devotional time, I felt like the last few words of the prayer and reflection contained, for me, the stronger message.

“Because he loves me, I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.”

Because he loves me…

Do I love God?

How do we I God?

How well do I love Him?

I will rescue him…

What danger am I in?

Why do I need rescuing?

Who is my Rescuer today?

I will protect him…

Do I feel in need of God’s protection today?

Have I asked for it?

For he acknowledges my name…

When was the last time I shared Jesus with anyone who didn’t already know Him well?

How long since I’ve cried out to Him, and then rested in His power?

When was I last thirsty for that which only God can supply?

God thirsts to be thirsted after.  Today, I begin again…

Leave a Reply

