Am I really helping?

Sometimes I read a devotional and think, “Wow, that is harsh!  That is cutting, brutal honesty. That is what needs to happen here, because, yeah, I’ve come to the end of my understanding with this person/situation/circumstance, and only the touch of the Holy One is going to be able to right what has gone wrong here.”  I had that thought today, as I read Oswald Chambers.  Brutal. Honest. Raw! Nothing I wanted to cozy up to, I assure you.  This is, in part, what Oswald had to share today:

“He must increase, but I must decrease.”  John 3:30

“If you become a necessity to a soul, you are out of God’s order.  As a worker, your great responsibility is to be a friend of the Bridegroom.  When once you see a soul in sight of the claims of Jesus Christ, you know that your influence has been in the right direction, and instead of putting out a hand to prevent the throes [struggles], pray that they grow ten times stronger until there is no power on earth or in hell that can hold that soul away from Jesus Christ.”

He goes on to say, “Over and over again, we become amateur providences, we come in and prevent God; and say—This one was a thief, he stole my affections from Jesus, and I lost my vision of Him.”

He finishes with, “Never mind what havoc it brings, what upsets, what crumblings of health, rejoice with divine hilarity when once His voice is heard.  You may often see Jesus Christ wreck a life before He saves it.”

Wow!  That is mind numbing stuff, isn’t it?  Our NATURAL inclination as believers is to rush in, do all we can to prevent further damage…BE that solution for others who are struggling.  And listen, I don’t think we should withhold goodness, or mercy, or help to those who need it, but we might benefit by asking the Lord if He is causing their struggle. What if he wants them broken and the only way to accomplish it is through their present hardship? What if He wants them to see HIM as their Savior, and not us? What then?

This brings up so many questions—questions only God can answer.

Today, let’s invest out time in finding out what He thinks.  Let’s listen long and hard BEFORE we do any more harm with our helping ways.

This message is counter intuitive, I will admit, but it rings true to my listening ears.  I’d love to hear your thoughts concerning it, and what the Lord reveals to you when you bring your service for Him before his throne and ask him if you’ve been moving in the right direction when offering help to others.

May we all see His Way more clearly, and do His Will more surely.  Amen.   

Leave a Reply

