I loved you, Samuel!

Today I pulled another tab from my Bible reading jar, cuz yeah, I was ready to explore once more.

ROMANS!

Before I scamper off to read about the early church though, I wanted to write a little about what I learned while reading my way through 1 Samuel.

As you may know, 1 Samuel records Samuel’s life and the times of Saul and David that butt up against the Prophets story.  Murder, intrigue, spiritual death, physical death, the death of a king, the anointing of another, and exciting times throughout, that’s what I found in 1 Samuel.

THINGS I LEARNED IN 1 SAMUEL

Obeying God, especially when it isn’t easy, is totally the way to go. So. Many. Blessings.

Not obeying God is a bad, bad thing and results in striking consequences.

Being humble means a lot to Papa.

Being proud may satisfy the flesh, but it doesn’t prove all that helpful in finding God.

God speaks a word to us when we obey and do what he says…no matter what.

God remains silent once He has established that we wouldn’t obey, even if he did tell us what to do.

Living in caves and hideouts—not that bad when a blood-thirsty king is hunting you down.

Giants don’t get to say who will win the day—God does!

One smooth stone in the hand of an expert is enough.

Women of honor are honored, and given riches, and crowns, and love, and a place in God’s story.

Even rabble-rousers and riff raff come in handy when you’re building an army.

Playing the harp can be a manly pursuit.  Yes, it can!!!

God tells a compelling story; one we miss out on when we don’t read the Bible regularly.

All hope depends on God, who uses lil guys and misfits every step of the way to victory.

Having a seer nearby helps, a lot.

Hiding from God won’t work. He sees us, even behind the baggage carts of life.

There were not Motel 6s in the ancient Arabah.

Sometimes the victory shout IS: Kill ‘em all!  We hear that often on basketball courts these days, don’t we?

The hand that rocks the cradle really does rule the world.

Prayer Changes Things!

Ancient mysticism fascinates me. I wonder how/why it works.

Kings should avoid witches at all costs.

Falling on your sword isn’t always noble.

Old Testament teaching isn’t for everyone, or so I hear, but I absolutely love it.  I love the simplicity of the OT. I love the fervor. I love the commitment to righteousness, and the stories that speak to the failings of those who try to skirt God’s commands.  I love the grace I see. I love the retribution that is fair, and just, and metered out by a Holy God, so we don’t have to wonder if it’s fair or not.

I love that the majority of what I find in the OT is unveiled and easy to understand. Who among us doesn’t understand betrayal, or the vulnerability of sinful men, or the blood lust and fear that accompanies war?  I get it.  I see it happening all over the globe today. I can look at what happens in 1 Samuel and compare it to my world and say with confidence that people don’t change without God’s intervention in their lives. They just don’t.

WHAT TO DO, WHAT TO AVOID, AND WHAT MAKES GOD UNCHANGING.

It’s all there in the Bible, but to get it you have to read both the Old Testament, and the New Testament.  They are both important for understanding who our God really is—who we are vowing allegiance to–and how He expects us to behave.

I loved reading 1 Samuel, but I must say I’m also ready to dive into Romans.  The early church. The struggles, and the blessings. The foundation and the continuing, never ending story of faith, forgiveness, and beginning again.  The picture of divine justice, set alongside the obvious failings of men is also fascinating to me.  Paul, in all his glory.  I love him, even as I despise him.  Intrigue, fighting, victory, defeats…  I can’t wait!  This is going to be sooooo good.

What book of the Bible is your favorite?  What did you recently learn from reading it, that you did not know before?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “I loved you, Samuel!

Leave a Reply

