Confirmation Comes

Therefore, my brothers and sisters, make every effort to confirm your calling and election. For if you do these things, you will never stumble, and you will receive a rich welcome into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. 2 Peter 1:10-11 NIV

CONFIRM

Confirm: To establish the truth or correctness of something. Verify. Validate. Removal of doubt.

When the apostle tells us to make every effort to confirm our calling and election, what he seems to be saying in my humble opinion, is that we have some work to do.

Where there is doubt, we need to find faith.
Where there is confusion, we need to find clarity.
Where there is a seeming lack of evidence, we need to realize the value inherent in our acts of mercy, help, and sacrificial love given to others.

We need to reestablish and make public our decision to follow Jesus. We need to declare it. We need to stand by it. We need to make sure that we are not hiding our faith away in a “safe” place, so as not to be demeaned, mocked, or singled out as one of those crazy folks that actually believes God is real and working in their lives and this world—even in a time of pandemic.

Let them think we’re crazy. Let them mock us. Let them think our faith in God is ridiculous. We don’t have to prove anything to them, except our love (John 13:35)—when they mock, when they laugh, and most importantly when they are struggling to find something solid to rest their weary fears upon. Then, folks, let your Light shine!!!!!!!!! Confirm that you belong to Jesus!!!!!!

Are you someone who struggles with believing you are right with God?  How do you confirm to others and yourself that you are a disciple of Jesus?  Explain.

4 thoughts on “Confirmation Comes

  1. N. Jean Bird says:

    I have never thought of this verse in this context. I guess I thought of it as knowing what God called me for or what he wanted me to do with my life and not my call to follow Jesus and to see it as truth. I see now I may have gotten the cart before the horse. Me being me, I wanted to jump right in once I was saved and do what I thought God wanted me to do instead of taking the time to get to know Jesus and His word. I put in a lot of unnecessary miles trying to find “my ministry” instead of his plan and purpose. God has slowed me down and thankfully taught me some valuable lessons in my well meaning but futile attempts at finding what I thought was my calling. Why, oh why are we so often so determined to do things our own way, especially when we know God’s way is always the best way. Daily working on that confirmation through God’s truths, as I rest in God’s pursuits and not my own.
    Thanks again Lori for shining a new light for me on God’s word!

    Like

Leave a comment